FLU SHOT RANT

Standard
 
I heard on tv news that CVS Pharmacy and Walgreens are
giving out flu shots starting this month for $30.00.. WOW!
Now seniors get theirs paid for by Medicare, but the rest
of us, we PAY. That is $5.00 higher than last year. GOOD
GRIEF!! What bill do we not pay, or food do we do without
for that week? What about the other shots? THOSE TWO
we are supposed to get for SWINE FLU?  Well you know me,
I gotta find out.. . I found that at colleges the flu shot
will be $23. each. SWINE FLU.. welll guess you have to shop
around for the best price but colleges will definitely be
giving their students a break and every opportunity
to get the shots.  Regarding the swine flu..
 
BIG SHOCK…  Some Blue Cross and other insurance
carriers will cover the cost of the shots. Smile Good news for
some. SWINE FLU is being taken seriously by some cities
and others not.  SO here is what they say..
 
"New York will offer free immunizations at elementary schools and distribute ‘
the vaccine through about 100 health clinics, according to plans released today
by Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s office. Los Angeles will give out shots at its fair
grounds, Boston is letting city employees leave work for two hours to get
vaccinated and Chicago’s schools plan to track real-time attendance for
the first time to identify hotspots, spokesmen for those municipalities said."
 
 
The federal Govt paid out over 6 billion dollars for doses of vaccines enough to
cover over 1/2 the population of the USA. How many of those who will actually
get the shot they don’t know. Some doctors are even refusing to get the new
vaccine because it has not been tested enough before going into the public
to be distributed. Now if there are doctor’s who won’t partake of the new swine
flu shot.. what the heck are we citizens supposed to think of that???
 
I sure hope the schools across the nation follow the lead of New York and the
larger cities and give them out free of charge. Families are having a hard enough
time making ends meet without having to PAY to keep their children from getting
some terrible new virus that targets children and young people the most.
 
I have mentioned this before, but I am one who HAS to take the shot LIKE
IT OR NOT. I am a caregiver for the elderly and have a chronic
illness– asthma. I think those caregivers like doctors nurses, and  police,  firefighters,
postal workers, bus drivers, etc all should be given the shots FREE. They are on
the front lines and first ones that may come into contact with the virus. (IF they
want to take them that is. There are some people who just won’t take
any FLU shot period and they are just fine.. always have been.
I wish I could take that chance.. but I can’t.
 
HERE is a recent quote from the LANSING STATE JOURNAL.
 
"The CDC already has decided the swine flu or H1N1 flu vaccine
 will be distributed free "because it’s a federal emergency,"
said Marcus Cheatham, assistant deputy health officer with the
 Ingham County Health Department.
Health care providers, however, will be able to charge administrative
 fees that can range from $15 to $25, depending upon the doctor’s
 office and whether the patient has a co-pay requirement for doctor’s office
visits, local health officials said."
 
So it’s FREE but we still PAY!! Sad
 
I promise I will try not to bring this up again but I just think that anyone
who really needs and wants a shot for this SWINE VIRUS should be able to
get one FREE of CHARGE. OUR health dept. here does a great job
of making the shots available, but they still charge a steep 25-28$ for
them, child or adult it does not matter. I fear for all those in this
nation or any other country who will miss out on something that could
save their life because they just don’t have the money and dont fall
into the slot of "deductible or covered" person. 
 
{Sorry this was so long, but it sure has been bugging me.Embarrassed}
 
WELL enough ranting about this same old thing.. it is just so frustrating sometimes
to know just what to do. Thinking
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

HOPE YOU ALL

 

 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

7 responses »

  1. The news media sure is scaring people about these shots and they are not sure yet if the H1N1 shots are safe for pregnant women yet. This was a great informative post. It’s on everyone’s mind these days and thank you for posting this.

  2. I don’t get the flu shot because I always get sicker if I have the shot than if I dont. And, I’m with the Dr’s… the H1N1 vaccine hasn’t been tested enough to go into my body… I’ll just wait a bit…

  3. I’ll stand by one the swine flu shots, They are, because of the time element, using the people who take the shot as a test group. They know we won’t die from them or they wouldn’t do it, but still, you have to wonder how good it would do to get one at this early stage of the game,

  4. No real news here about free flu shots through the schools, but we’ll see—M will get one somehow! Us too. There will always be people out there making money on this shot, you can bet.

  5. I am mixed up about the swine flu shot. I will get the regular one and if my doctor recommends it I will get the other one. I definitely don’t want the flu.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

