IT’S AN EASY RECIPE!!

Standard
I just had the weirdest Labor Day I have had in a long time. First
it was gloomy and rainy and I slept in. Then Sis called and wanted
to make a recipe that we hadn’t had but one time before. Since it was
cool outside I said OK. She came and we made a cassarole with
cabbage that tastes like the cabbage rolls that we always made
in the fall of the year. This was baked in the oven and boy was it
simple. I LOVE SIMPLE!! She told me how she got the recipe years
ago and had only made it maybe 2 times before. We had that thing
done in less than 10 minutes and in the oven to bake. SIMPLE!
 
It’s called a SCATTERED CABBAGE CASSAROLE
I did a search on the internet and ever single recipe was different
and none like mine, so here it is.
 
SCATTERED CABBAGE CASSAROLE
SERVES 10 -12
Ingredients… 
 Mix this together in a bowl..
2  lbs ground beef, raw
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
 2 eggs
 1 medium chopped onion
 1 cup instant rice (white)
1 small can tomato sauce
salt and pepper
1 tsp garlic powder
SET ASIDE
 
In a separate bowl mix up sauce topping
1 (8 ounce) can  tomato soup
1 (8 ounce) can cream of mushroom soup (important don’t substitute)
1 1/2  (8 ounce)  soup can water
 
DIRECTIONS
In the bottom of an ungreased 3 quart baking dish place
1/2 head of cabbage that has been cored and
sliced up and separated slightly..
THEN
Place the meat mixture over the sliced cabbage
similar to a meatloaf.
Place the remaining half head of sliced cabbage
on top of the meat mixture and pour over the
sauce topping and cover well with foil or lid.
Cover and bake @350 for about 1 1/2 hours.
YUMMY!
You can put more spices and such in this or even
add some grated cheese if you wish. It was so simple
and easy to make. (NO, I didnt get a pic of the finished
dish as we dug in as soon as it was done!) Wink
 
While it baked we watched a marathon of WHALE WARS
on the Animal Planet.( I told you it was wierd) Mom was flipping
channels and saw the ship and wondered what was happening.
Next thing we knew we watched at least 10 episodes of the show.
The work these people do and the dedication to the cause of
saving the whales is just amazing. If you have never seen the
show it will just amaze you.
Well that was most of my day. It sure was strange. The day is over
and now the whole house smells like CABBAGE..
by product of baking it so long. Hope it is nicer tomorrow
so I can open the windows LOL Open-mouthed
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT  T U E S D A Y !!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

7 responses »

  1. I am not a fan of cabbage. The only way I like it is in cole slaw. Another thing I had too much of as a kid.While you were watching the whales I was watching ncis so I had a wierd day too. lolhugs to you and mom.

  2. I’ve saved that recipe to try. Cabbage rolls are such a pain to make, even if they ARE good. This sounds easy enough and good too! Glad you had a strange labor day….but fun. Ours was pretty quiet too, but no excitement is better than too much…hey?!

  3. Sounds like something we’d like, although I’d have to scale it down quite a bit. Sorry to hear about your ‘puter. Hope it gets better soon.

  4. Sound like something my hubby would like, but I would need to figure out how to cut the recipe in hafe. I am having a problems throwing out leftover food. Wonder if this is somethine one could freeze.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

