SPOOKY BEHAVIOR!!

Standard
SPOOKY LOOKING  HUH!!!
 
WHAT a day I had on Tuesday. It started early when I turned
on the old XP. SPOOKY is one word for it. It would not respond
to anything I wanted it to do. I thought of virus or some other
problem and started the whole routine of going through the
motions of checking for possible solutions. THAT takes time..
a whole lot of time on a slow machine. I sure don’t have time
for that. What the heck is going on now the XP is doing the same
stuff as MIRACLE?? WHAT the heck??? WOW.. well when it comes
down to it. Miracle was acting a lot worse than this XP but BOTH
machines on the fritz at one time. Unbelievable!! A friend
mentioned starting it in safe mode etc. I did notice that Windows
is updating again. Could be that when it does that the old
machine goes nutty.. who knows???Disappointed
 
Tonight I came in and started the machine in safe mode
and to a point where the machine worked before and WHAMMO
it came right on and is working okay so far. RELIEF!!! OH YES!!Smile
Leery.. yes I still am.{ Once burned you know!} now that I can get
to my files and pictures etc. I am stepping up the clean up of the
files etc that I was doing here. Really all I was doing was making
disc copies of things and no real changes in the computer at all.
 
In the afternoon I had made a trip to the local library and used their computers.
WOW things have changed there since I last visited. Our public library
became a "district" library so that it could stay open. Money came
pouring in to their delight and boy the place looks grand now.
New computers and a much better lay out than before. I approved
highly. I did have to wait though for a while until one of the 10 computers
was free. A very busy day there.
I sent out some e mails from there explaining what was going on
at home here with the old XP. LUCKY FOR ME tonight it is working!!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
THINGS I LEARNED AT THE LIBRARY…
1. USE hand sanitizer or wipes or both!!
2. Expect the person next to you to be noisy and maybe smell.
3. Don’t watch the countdown clock on the page that
tells you how many minutes you have left.. it only makes you
stress out worse. (I had a pounding headache when I left)
4. ALWAYS ALWAYS sign out of your e mail and etc to protect
your passwords.
5 Take your Notebook with you that has all the passwords and
links in it,
6. EXPECT to WAIT, and Wait and Wait! Sad
7. DO NOT USE THE HEADSET…don’t even touch it! ACK!!!Confused
8  Don’t panic when the librarian gives you a harsh look she gives
that to everyone.
9 Doublecheck to make sure you have all your belongings when you
get up to leave.  
10 GO TO THE BATHROOM BEFORE YOU SIGN ON  (TRUST ME!!) Wink
 

HOPE YOU ALL

 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. Wish my hubby was close so he could fix your computer. He trouble shoots mine all the time, I don’t know what I would do if he wasn’t here to help me, but I would share him with you. today we are going to Ky on a road trip hope to get some great pictures to share with you. Thanks for the tips on the library, I don’t go very often but when I do I will remember your tips!!! Here’s hoping you have a Blessed Wednesday too. Hugs, patsy

  2. I had to use the computers at the library two times back 6 yrs ago when the power supply burned up in a brown out. Not fun then and are you ever right about about who you’re next to. Ewww sometimes.

  3. What’s probably happening is this: Your computer is updating using Windows updater, but there isn’t enough processing or RAM to perform THAT and everything else. So, I would suggest this: turn off the automatic updater so that you can decide when you want it to update. That way, you can set it to update when you go to bed or when you’re going to be away for a while.

  4. I wonder what the heck is going on! I know how careful you are with you computer so it’s a mystery. I wish I knew how to help you but I’m at a loss about things like that. I do know it’s frustrating as all get out though.Great tips about library computers. I’ll have to remember them if I ever have to resort to that.Have a great day!

  5. You must have the same librarian as I do. Her look is so harsh it would freeze boiling water. My library only has 1 computer. I hope your computer stays back to normal.Hugs!

  6. So, is the Vista one working again? I’m confused. Hope it continues. The Library sounds much better than the last time you had to go there. Wow, 10 computers! They could speed things up if they got a cable for all of them—wow, think of how much you could get done then! Well you can hope…

  7. Glad your back up and running. I don’t think I would ever be comfortable using a library computer. I would probably just be climbing the walls.

  8. You sure got that library thing down. I did that 3 years ago. Hubby was looking for work and we had no computer. We’ve come a long way since than. Thank God

  9. If you need to go back, itwould be nice if you could find a time when things are slower at your library and you can get in more than an hour. It’s amazing how fast time flies when we’re on the ol’ ‘puter. Hope things stay running for you. Fingers crossed. 🙂

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

