PATRIOTS DAY…

Standard
EIGHT YEARS HAVE PASSED SINCE 9/11 Can You believe it?
Have any of you had after effects of 9-11? Ones that linger
even until today?  I had to think about it for a second and
say YES to that question. Here’s what I came up with…

BEFORE 9/11  I had the rose colored glasses on, and felt
that the USA was invincible. NO ONE WOULD DARE MESS
WITH US. I was WRONG. I learned a lesson there.
Now if I see that breaking news on
the tv I  get tense and think OH NO
NOT AGAIN!! People on US soil are out to get us
we know they are and we don’t know where they
are. SCARY!Confused
 

BEFORE 9/11  I never watched the global news like
I do now. I feel a NEED to know what is going on all
over the world and keep informed. What affects them
has a lot to do with us it seems. We have so many troops
overseas fighting for us and never before have we had
this many die to help preserve our freedom.
BEFORE 9/11  I didn’t really worry about my gas tank
being pretty full in the car. NOW I keep it that way
a lot of the time if I can. I SAW first hand what happened
when a crisis hit and the prices skyrocketed and gouging
got out of hand. Sure the state government put a
halt to it but NOT UNTIL AFTER  so many had purchased
their tank full already. We saw stores run out quickly of
staple items. Trucks could not load and get their goods
to the outlets as easily as they did. It made me think! Thinking
BEFORE 9/11  I never had a stash of secret cash on hand
in CASE I couldn’t get into the bank to get any. I am not
saying I have a ton of money hidden, but I am more prepared
than I used to be. I think many people are. There were no runs
on the bank that day it happened, but I admit I was in line at
the teller not an hour later to get some "in case" money. It
made me feel better to know I had extra.
BEFORE 9/11  I never had a pantry stocked like I do now. NO WAY!
I keep more staples of batteries and water and canned goods and
essentials  now more than ever. It is a must as far as I am concerned.
You just never know when you will have to use them.
 
BEFORE 9/11  I was never alert to things going on around me
like I am now. We Americans were asked to "keep an eye" on
anything that didn’t seem quite right. I do that now. I have
really watched things with different eyes. I try to keep
my cell phone charged and watch for others around me
that might cause some harm to others. Who would ever
bring a bomb or gun inside a mall and cause harm?
It was almost unheard of back then.

Maybe this sounds like I am being paranoid, but I
tend to think being prepared is better than NOT being
prepared. The world sure changed because of that
horrible day. So many lives were lost, families changed forever, and
the country and world is different now. We all are different in
our own ways. Those of us who experienced it will forever
be changed. Hopefully the changes will be good ones.

Ó Caroldee 2009

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT FRIDAY!!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. You are absolutely right! Things have changed since that fateful day—and probably for the better, in spite of the tension it has caused. I too am more worried about it all than I used to be and more ready too in case of an emergency. Hopefully we will never have another 9/11 experience, but unfortunately it’s not likely we’ll be that lucky. Too many crazies out there that spoil it for everyone else. Thanks for the reminder!!

  2. Dear Carol Dee, My brother John was there that night with his crew at ground zero and worked until they could work no more. The memory and the passing of time have no cure for the world as we had known it has changed forever.In each and everyone of us is a seed planted by the Founding Fathers as they strove to bestow the American Spirit and Dream witten in candle light, in defiance of the Crown. Defined freedom, rights and responsibilities that would insure Independence for the peoples of this Great Nation. Today we reflect and honor 9.11 and pray.As ever be well

  3. You are so right Carol, our world has changed. Like you when there is a news alert I too feel my heart pick up a beat or two. No I will never forget this day and where I was when I learned of it. Take care and I hope you and your Mom have a wonderful weekend. Hugs, Patsy

  4. Definitely things have changed for us. If not for 9-11 I doubt we would be in war now. I pray every day for the wars to end all over the world. Vey insightful post Carol.HUGS!!

  5. I too am more aware of my surroundings then I use to be. The few times I’ve traveled since then I watch more closely at airports. It’s always good to be prepared.

  6. I think most of us are more aware. It has changed the concept of people watching drasticly. You really never know what the person next to you is planning. Being prepared is something we all have try to be now. No matter how they try though we are still the greatest nation in the world.

  7. shoot no it’s not paranoid. It’s reality! You..we…all of us have to be as prepared as possible and suspicious. As terry said, you never know what the person next to you is planning.

  8. The way things are going right now I just feel like there will be something else happening. I pray that it does not happen, but I do feel it. I remember that day very well.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

