WOULD YOU TAKE THAT CHALLENGE?

Standard
Would you take the challenge if someone asked you to
travel across the country in 5 days and all you had access to was $50.00.?
(photo courtesy of CBS)
This crazy Dave Price on CBS EARLY SHOW took the challenge this
week. I have been following him on twitter. He can only get rides and such
if he EARNS them. So he has been working his way across the country.
Sleep has been rare, and in some places cramped. Jobs have been dirty,
exciting and tiring. I think the thought of having to do it all in 5 days was
a bit much. It puts a big strain on a person having that stress of time
constraints. People have been offering him food and such across the USA,but
he cannot accept unless he earns it.
 
BUT.. would they do this for just any John or Jane DOE?? I don’t think they
would be as quick to help out because the person is a complete stranger.
Dave is not the typical stranger. When people find out he is with CBS.. they
are in a hurry to "get on tv" so they rush to help.Maybe not in all cases, but
still he has some pull etc.  Dave says he has made
friends for LIFE on this trip across the USA. He has met some generous and
caring people with big hearts. YES they are out there.. millions of them.
We spacers sure know that don’t we! Wink
 
There is a story at every stop and at every mile. With Twitter to guide him
he is in touch with all those millions who can instantly tell him where to go
and how to get help. I even offered a meal in exchange for a lawn mow or
a car wash. I doubt he gets anywhere near the Michigan border. His goal is
New York City and the CBS EARLY SHOW by Friday. He is in the Iowa area now.
 
Well I hope he makes it by Friday, but me.. I would have rather seen him
take his time and meet USA along the way, and tell the stories of how
the people in this country are coping and living. How neat that would be!
You can read more HERE about the whole adventure. I like adventures
on the road and always have..but in 5 days or a week with no money..whoa…
I think I will pass on this one.  Wink 
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Cold temps are coming by the weekend.. I got my yard mowed today and my
tomato vines are now a memory.Sad Time to get all the fall chores finished.
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. I can imagine that leaving a person with some very interesting experiences to say the least, I’m not a twitterbug so no way to check that out from there. I’ve done my share of traveling and found much more extraordinary blessing than curses…what a remarkable world we live in!

  2. Your are right. It would have been so interesing to take the time to really get to know the USA and what a wonderful video or book that would be.

  3. This is all very interesting. I don’t watch early morning tv so this is the first I had heard of it. If he is in Iowa he may be coming through my area so keep your eyes open for Champaign/Urbana IL.Hard freeze and light snow predicted here for this weekend. I have to finish getting my tomatoes torn down.

  4. So, what does he win if he does it? I hope the prize is worth it to do it that fast! I love to travel too, but like you, I’d rather take my time and have some fun along the way. Hope he makes it though. Hats off to him for trying.

  5. Sure I’d do it if I had a camera crew along with me to keep me safe and bail me out if needed. Sounds like a way to boost ratings, but a unique one at that! Today sounds like the kind of day to bake something.

  6. Americans always want to do things fast – hence, the do it in 5 days trip across the country. We have a short attention span.

  7. Absolutely I would do it in a heartbeat but I would want more time. And like Cindy, I’d want protection along with me.You have a great day too.

  8. @Sue He doesn’t get any prize or anything it was a challenge.. and today he was in Minneapolis after being driven all night by a woman who lost her job at 59 years old. Quite a sad story and a real heart wrencher. He says now he doesn’t care if he makes itor not but I think the powers that be DO and somehow he will make it by Friday. : )

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

