TODAY’S NEWS

Standard
Today’s news is mom will be transferred to a rehab facility either
later today or tomorrow. When I arrived at the hospital a 9 AM today
they had already done the needle-lung procedure a day early and the RN said they
took 1100 cc off her lungs. It is being tested as I write. I did not get to talk
to the pulmonologist about anything. All these doctor’s and they all
have to okay everything before her release. Mom has eaten her meals by herself
with no help and felt that she could. She was NOT made to do anything.
I met with the social worker on the case and she said they were trying
to co-ordinate her transfer and her dialysis treatment which is already
scheduled at another facility here tomorrow afternoon. I told her I thought
transferring mom at NIGHT was nuts and maybe please could they wait
until tomorrow.. She told me that all of this will be taken care of and not
to worry. I told her I worry about PNEUMONIA since mom gets it so easy
and it is so very cold outside now for her. We are hoping that an ambulance can
transport her as it wil be very difficult for my sister and I to handle her alone.
She has a membership that will pay for that.
Tonight we are meeting with the head doctor who admitted mom and
will settle all the questions and what will take place. Mom is very
afraid and does not wish to be "sent someplace" without my sister or
I accompanying her. We wait the decisions of all the doctors on her case.
The long days of waiting and driving back and forth are almost over.
If mom were stronger she would be going HOME.. that has been the goal
and we hope it doesn’t take too long for her to reach that.
Home by Thanksgiving sounds wonderful!!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
It is cold and rainy here we haven’t seen flakes but it sure feels like
it out there. Gas is all over the place now the prices are crazy.
Local stations had it 2.55 and in this town it was almost 12 cents more.
Our local store advertised milk for 2.00 a gallon.. I haven’t been in
a store since mom got sick.. guess it is time to stock up again.
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
PS Beth Marie.. the card was great amdn MOM really loved it!!Red heart
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. Life in the hospital, I can’t say just how weird time is when you’re there or someone you love is there. It’s like a time capsule in many ways but life does move on outside doesn’t it? I hope that things progress so you both can be out of there. We have bright sunny days but only temperatures in the forties…I won’t complain though…at least it’s bright and beautiful. Bless you my friend.

  2. Oh Carol, I so hope you have your Mom home for Thanksgiving. Its cloudy here today, cold tomorrow. You take care of you. Hugs, patsy

  3. We’ll all hope for the best! The care facility sounds like a good deal for a while for her and you. Glad they got all that fluid off of her but leery that she can’t get rid of it herself. Home by Thanksgiving is a great plan—hope it comes to be!

  4. So glad that they are getting things coordinated and of course your mom is apprehensive. I would be ready to sprout wings and fly away if it was me I am that up tight about hospitals.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

