SETTLING IN

Standard
   RANDOM THOUGHTS HERE.. BEAR WITH ME…
Life here is very hectic.. more than I thought it would be
once mom was settled here in town. Life in the "rehab"
facility is not the best we can get but what we have to deal
with. Mom has been struggling with things and her life away
from the excellent care she was getting at the hospital. Anybody
knows that settling into a new place takes time. New routines
and new people and they take time to learn. Fear takes a big
toll on mom there too. The bed is smaller and there is no rail
on the sides to make sure she won’t fall out.(they are working
to help that situation)or at least there is a promise to help it.
Sis and I have decided that if she does fall we will arrange
for help at home and keep her there the best we can. I have
done this kind of work for over 20 years so I do know what it 
takes and will take whatever help I can get to keep her safe.
Many of you have had similar situations I am sure and know
what I mean.
path1.jpg
  (google image)
In the past two days I have seen mom in PAIN and
no one co-operating to help relieve it any .. except for a tylenol.
Having taken pain pills over the past 10 years for degenerative
arthritis.. a tylenol doesn’t help her the least little bit. I took charge
and told the LPN on duty that something should be done immediately!
They used extra blankets for warmth and not much else. Being the weekend
they had to try to get ahold of a Dr. in charge so I told them to
DO IT.. in the meantime I used some warming creams that helped
a lot. Well there is more to the story but I hate to rant too much here.
 
Her treatments
take a long time and a lot out of her too. If you had ask her
two months ago if she wanted the treatments she would
have told you NO over and over again. When the urgency of
the situation came up she agreed. YES she can say NO she
doesn’t want any more and face the inevitable conclusion,
but she is not ready yet to make that decision. So the days
roll on and many things have to be settled. I am thankful the
nights are long so that the dark comes early and I can go to
bed and sleep if I can when my mind isn’t thinking too much.
It’s been a long time since
visiting many of you and I hope to catch up with extra time
waiting while mom has her treatments. The library there is
close by. The weather here is getting colder and at least
we haven’t had any flakes yet. The walks in the cold will
do me good to clear my head some.
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT WEEK AHEAD!! 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. I had some catch up to do with your posts. Oh Carol I can’t imagine what you are going through. Your Mom is in my prayers. I hope you get some needed sleep. I know this has to be so exhausting for you and your sister. I hope all will work out soon.

  2. I hope you can keep her there in he facility as it does give you the opportun ity to sleep at night when home. But I can see things are in an awful turmoil. I can’t imagoine no pain management? What was the Dr thinking when she was discharged from the hospital? Keeping all three of you in my prayers and I think of you each and every day. (((HUGS))) Sis

  3. I feel so sorry for your mom and for you and your sister. It is really tough for you all. Keep one thing in mind, if your mother should happen to fall while at the facility, call a lawyer.Hugs and prayers.Beth

  4. Carol sorry you have to go through this. We moved my Mom up to Washington State in January 2003 from Arizona. She had had a stroke and was partially paralyzed. The facility we moved her to was wonderful, but she was not happy. We then decided to move closer to Garry’s work and buy a place suitable for our needs and for Mom. On Christmas eve 2003 Mom moved into our new home with us. It was hard at first but we all made it. I was diagnosed with cancer in April 2004, went through my treatments and just when I was feeling a bit better, Mom got sick. She passed away January 7th 2005. I have not lived close to my parents for many years and it was an adjustment having our roles reversed, but well worth it. My prayers go to you and your family. At least you know what to do and what to expect. I went into the whole thing clueless, but learned as we went along. Your Mom is lucky to have you there to help. Penny

  5. Yes, the doctors should have prescribed something for the pain before she was moved out of the hospital. Glad you are on it and persistent! Hope the snow will hold off for a while so you won’t have to deal with that as well. I hate that things like this always seem to happen around the holidays. Hang tough—wish I could be there to help you. Big hugs for you, your Mom and and Sis.

  6. Change can really seem like a monster especially when we first encounter it. Sometimes in the face of the greatest changes we can discover gems of grace that sustain us through it all. We really went through it with my grand parents. Caring for my grandmother on my mom’s side with Altzeimer’s followed by my grandpa getting cancer…we cared for him until he passed away…not long after that my grandma on my dad’s side passed away and we cared for my grandpa on my dad’s side until he passed away. It created a bubble that we thought we’d never get out of but it did eventually happen. There’s grace even in that all encompassing world that’s created by illness in the family. Blessings to you.

  7. Wow Carol, this is way more than you need at this time. I’m so glad you have your 20years experience to help you through this. It will make things so much better for Mom. Take care and remember you are in my thoughts daily.

  8. With my experiences with nursing homes and rehab places is you have to be assertive to get what you need. If you don’t you get they just do as little as they can get away with. It’s a lot to have to deal with and my heart goes out to you. HugsSherry

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

