QUESTIONS ANSWERED..

Standard
I set out today to try to get errands done and such,and at the same
time try to get some questions answered that were really bothering
me. I know it sounds like a bunch of rants but really I am kind of trying
to figure some things out.. Here goes…..


glitter-graphics.com

 ONE…
Yes the darn kitchen staff who work the weekend shift DO NOT
communicate with the ones who work the weekly
shift. The menu plan is posted and the dislikes etc of
the patient and their restrictions. Some kitchen staff
just ignore them completely. The thought of mom eating
stuff she shouldn’t or can’t tolerate just made me mad.
It hinders her recovery, including spiking her blood pressure.
It was brought to the attention of the administrator of the whole
place and I bet it was NOT the first time either. She has been
there over a week you would think someone would know
something and do their job!! The rest of the  staff try hard
to please for the most part, but some drop others the ball completely.
I, for one, cannot wait until mom is stronger and can get out
of that place.Confused
TWO….
DR’S don’t give a hoot what is going on and their staff
ASSUME more than they should. They schedule appointments
for people and DO NOT take into consideration the patients
age or condition. Imagine, if you will, sending an 83 year old
for a "sleep evaluation" overnight to see if they have sleep
apnea when the patient has no idea what the heck is going on
and has to rise early the next day to go to 4 hours of kidney
dialysis. Baring teeth WHAT??? You would have loved to have heard
that conversation wouldn’t you?? Well shocking.. I tried to remain
calm.. I explained that in mom’s condition she wouldn’t sleep unless knocked
out and she would just not tolerate that very well. The employee understood
me okay and said she was sorry that things got so confused. I have the
feeling we are not through with them yet.Sad
 
THREE…
Therapists are not always GOD’S who know it all!!
Who gives a 83 year old therapy and then sends them to
4 hours of dialysis???? Wink Whew.. do they think they
have that much energy? Sis and I had to set things
straight with the TWO therapists on site during the week.
PLEASE don’t tax her by doing BOTH in the same day.
She had THE worst day so far in the whole three weeks
she has been sick by doing both in one day. NEVER AGAIN!!
She had been in the place for over a week and we told them
but I guess not STERN enough to watch it!!! Job done .. won’t
happen again.
of that place.Confused
 Well know you all must be getting tired of all this medical stuff and
what’s going on, but it sure is helping me keep things straight and
get some things off my chest. 
THANKS!!!Red heart 
 
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

18 responses »

  1. You say whatever you want to. We understand and most of all, we care deeply about what is happening. That won’t change ever.

  2. If you girls don’t speak out for your mother no one else will. I had plenty of ‘discussions’ with the doctors and nurses when Jim was in the hospital. It didn’t do much good but they all did know that I could raise my voice when necessary. Keep on them all and make them pay attention Carol.

  3. Some people think Doctors are gods and they aren’t they are people like us.It’s up to you to make sure they get it right just like your plumber, damn straight.

  4. #1 I would discuss with the head nureses. #2 Need to Doctor. #3 My frined hubby has been on dialysis for over six years then he is Sixties even so his getting tired after that….Only way that needs talk to her doctor. Hopefuly your mum get an easier time to come.

  5. Oh Carol what a mess, but if you don’t look out for your Mom I don’t think these guys are. You speak your mind and keep them in line , so your Mom can heal and get out of there. Sorry you are having all this stress. Maybe after your talks these so call proffesionals will do their jobs Correctly. Take care and thinking of you and your mOm and sis. Hugs, patsy

  6. You have very valid points. I agree with all of them. You are an excellent advocate for your mother… she is so very lucky to have you. I think that your concerns are the epitome of what’s wrong with the Medical Health industry… there are a few that care and try to make a difference, but there are many who either don’t care or don’t have the wherewithal to engage their brain and think about what the heck their doing.In fact, that’s one of the things I work with when I get new Mentee’s here at work… I start getting them to think a head about what they’re doing, it works so well that they end up using it in their personal life too…We’re here for you. Just dump on us, we can take it. You’re a gem and you have your own personal pair of golden wings for what you’re doing for your mother. *Hugs*

  7. Hey, you can vent all you like! We’re here to listen. At least you are there for her and for that, we are ALL grateful! Keep up the good work (and I know it must be WORK!). Missed Survivor on Thanksgiving day, but expected it would just be one of those review shows. Looking forward to it this week!

  8. from experience I know when dealing with staff in a care facility you have to stay on repeat yourself as often as necessary to as many people as required until you get the results your Mom needs. As her advocate you will likely not be the most popular person around but seriously, the only person that you need to please is your Mom. keep on doing what you are doing and God bless you for being there for your Mom.

  9. Thinking of you and your family at this time. Its really tough being an advocate. Your doing the best for your Mom and that’s whats matters here. Nothing wrong with making sure things are right for Mom and certainly speak up when you need to. I m sorry I have been so busy with my Mom and Dad lately that I just haven’t been on like usual. You have my prayers Carol and lots of hugs to..

  10. Not getting tired of it at all Carol. We are all wondering, hoping and praying for her recovery and we want to know how she is and what’s going on. So thank you for keeping us informed. We really do care! I’m sorry they have messed things up so bad and I hope they finally heard you and know that you mean business. Hugs & loveSherry

  11. Your just keep up the pressure on them. They sure would if it was one of their family members. They may be in that position some day and should thinkof how they would like to be taken care of. You don’t tire us at all. We want to hear how things are going as we care and pray for you Mom, sister and you. Hugs

  12. It makes me wonder what is being done to those poor elderly that don’t have someone advocating this for them. What torture they must have to go through. I’m sure happy your mom has an army of loved ones to support her through this.

  13. Dear Carol, This blog really concerns me. I am so glad your mother has you to protect her! I had sent you a friend’s invite and I do hope you accept it. Here is the reason why……..I take care of my Dad who is 88 years old and my brothers and I are facing the dreaded assistant living situation. I have so many questions and your advice would be greatly appreciated. May I private message you? Thanks so much. Lisa.

  14. Wow, I feel so bad about all of this. As if you aren’t stressed enough, and to have to go through all this is just wrong. I’m sure you’ve made your point loud and clear and if they know what’s good for them, they’ll be more careful and caring. Afterall, it is a care center, isn’t it? Man. I’m all steamed up just reading this.

  15. Have they given you any idea how long they think she will require rehab? She’s gets around ok in her wheelchair, she’s eating and for the most part having good days. Why not bring her home? She would get much better care it sounds like. You could take advantage of the home services offered by Medicare. Tough situation to be in I know, I went through it with my Grandmother and I was durable health care power of attorney (her only child my Mother died when I was in my 20’s). Only other advice I have is start looking now and interviewing other facilities if this looks to be a permanent situation. Doesn’t sound like a place you would want to keep her once her 30 days are up from Medicare for a skilled facility.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

