TWIG

Standard
Now "Twig" is a real character. He has found the greatest job in the
world he says. "There are never two days alike…never. Each one is
different and nothing runs on a definite schedule. One day you could
be 100 miles away at some appointment and the next you could be
right in town making many trips to different places. You meet all kinds of
nice people.. some not so nice too," You name a city around here and he
knows just about every building there is. He has transported people
from the rehab place for years. He used a van at first and then they realized
what a service he provided so they gave him a nice big bus. The large
lift made his life and the patients so much easier.
Twig is a nickname for him because his real name is a close match.
He wears a heavy coverall this time of year and his shoes are always
shiny."He smells like coffee and tobacco." mom said. He says he
averages 4 to 6 cups a day and it keeps him going.
He’s very caring, mom tells me, and appreciates what the patients are
going through. Keeping the dates and times straight would drive anyone
crazy but he keeps everything on paper in a log and keeps on time
as best as he can. He says" I have learned that some of these Dr. offices,
will reschedule you if you are as little as 10 minutes late." "It’s best to call
if you are having a bad time or KNOW that you are not going to make it."
He told me that he has driven in pretty bad weather, got stuck out of town
with the major highway closed down, and had many technical problems along
the way. "We always got back safe and sound..allbeit a little later than we wanted
to."
The nurses and staff at the Tendercare Rehab think highly of him and trust him
with their patients. Melissa, one of the RN’s said. "I don’t know what we would do
around here without him." I can sure believe that!! I am grateful that someone
so competent is taking mom back and forth to treatments. Sis and I both have
ridden with him and we think "SANTA" will be bringing him some wonderful
treats this winter too. Wink
 
Well we have sun here today and cold 18 this morning when I left to join Mom
at the center. NIppy but NO SNOW!!  We are so lucky here to be able to NOT
have to deal with it yet.. I know those days are coming soon though.
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. Thank heaven for Twig. There should be more like him!It was 15 degrees when I got up but it is starting to warm up now.Hugs,Beth

  2. It takes a special kind of a person to do what Twig does. May God bless him in many of ways.I can see Santa thinking now.

  3. People like that are such a treasure, who says the best gifts are under the tree? It’s great to hear what’s going on with you all there my friend.

  4. What a heartwarming post, it put a smile on my face just reading about Twig. I hope all the other families who entrust their loved one to Twig remember him at Christmas too.

  5. Twig sounds like a real gem! A big high 5 to him! So often, these good service people are overlooked but you really do appreciate him and his good job. Hope you show him your blog! Sounds like "Santa" will be busy this year. I know I’m baking more than usual as folks around here are not getting anything other than that this year, unless it’s copies of my books… Some snow possible this Monday and Wednesday here. We’ll see.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

