CATCHING UP…

Standard
Boy, time has been flying by here. Yesterday Sis went
and had the car checked over and new tires put on.
Winter is upon us and we have to be ready!!


glitter-graphics.com

 
Mom has had some
appointments ,both here in town and out of town that
have kept us very busy. The only place that slows down
any is where mom is, in the care center. I mean talk about
time standing still. Things are pretty laid back. They
have their schedules to keep but it still seems pretty
slow to me. Passing the time gets to be a real challenge.
They have their therapy, games, tv time, social hour,
etc but when you don’t participate (pretty much like mom)
then the time stands still.
We have been encouraging her to meet people and go along
with BINGO and just talking to others. It’s been really hard.
Mom is and always has been pretty shy at taking to others
hobbies. She would rather stay home and watch tv than
anything. She says she doesn’t remember who they are but
does sometimes remember their faces. People have noticed
her southern twang. She left Tennessee when she was 18
for Michigan, but still has some of that accent left. The workers
tell us she co-operates with them and tries really hard to
do most everything they tell her. The only problem she has
is with therapy and she just doesn’t want to do it.
It will help her though so she tries.


glitter-graphics.com

 Monday we left town early, and I do mean an early 6:30 in the morning,
for a 8:00 appointment. The center got mom up at 4 AM. Sad
After getting her ultrasound done she met with her surgeon.
He complained that it took him 15 minutes to read all the reports
and such that she had done. He noticed how mom looked.. and I told
him that she had waited since 4 AM to get to this part of her day.
He was shocked! Never said another word! Smile  They are moving
along making plans for a more permanent vascular port etc in
her arm for her dialysis. This whole thing will set her back at least
two weeks in her therapy progress. It will require another hospitalization
which she  is not looking forward to. This will be a new hospital and
more people and such she doesn’t know. It really confuses her and
frankly us too. I ask about the hospital and they told me it was because
they do not have the equiptment in the other hospital where she was before.
Darn! With the weather being bad now.. (yes that nasty stuff is bearing down
on us..) it reminds us of how bad the winters can get here. I may have to
stay with her in the hospital this time. We will wait and see. It is a day
to day thing now. I can honestly say I have spent more time away from
home in the past month than in the last 10 years here. I come home, eat
and some night go straight to bed exhausted. No two days are the same
that is for sure right now.  

Mom looks forward to the mail now. She has recieved cards from
all over the country and she LOVES it! Sis and I are going to be
taping them up on her door so everyone can see all of them.
I appreciate that so much.Red heart Thanks goes out to Carole,Beth,Diane,
Anita,Sherry and Mo for those.Red heart
 
Well hope we all get through this storm of storms that is rolling
across the nation. I have seen snow totals that are frightening.
I sure hope we get lucky again here and it is white and light!!
Hope to get time to catch up with you all soon.

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!
 

 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

6 responses »

  1. Carol, I am so sorry you are all being pulled apart like this. Hospitals and rehabs are bad enough when the weather is good. In the winter time it becomes intolerable. I know how the days all run together. Prayers for you all!

  2. Carol, I’m sorry things seem to be going in so many different directions. I can’t imagine why in the world they would wake her up so early for an appointment hours later. I guess in a place like that you go on THEIR schedule instead of the patients. I do hope the storm by passes you so you don’t have hazardous roads to travel on. I’d rather we get it right now then you. I can imagine how exhausted you are so do try to get as much rest as you can.Take care and big hugs for all.Sherry

  3. I would say at this point you must feel like you need many extra limbs and brains to keep all the things you need to do actually done. I know how being entangled in the system especially when it comes to the hospital it’s like you’re in a world apart. I just pray that you have the grace to continue to do what needs to be done. We are having a terrible cold snap here with temperatures even for the high not being able to break above zero…I really do not like that. Blessings to you my friend.

  4. It’s hard enough reading about all you’re going through, I can’t imagine how hard it is for you. Hugs and prayers coming your way.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

