PREPARING FOR THE HOLIDAY..

Standard
Somehow we got rid of almost ALL our Christmas stuff
this summer when we donated them to charity. I could
use some of it now to decorate mom’s room up as it
is pretty dull in there. She wanted to come home by Christmas
but I think she knows that won’t happen now. She has a lot
of rehab therapy to go yet to help her.She insisted we NOT
bring anything to her there, but we snuck things in little by little.
Sis searched for a small fiber optic tree here in town.
There was only one left. Now it’s
my turn to try and find tiny ornaments that will actually fit on it.

 I haven’t felt much like baking a lot this year..no time really.

If it is fast and easy I will think about it.Smile
I made fudge, but haven’t decorated the house much at all. 
Sis and I decided mom’s room will
be our decorated place this year…whether she likes it or not.Wink
It really will be a strange kind of holiday this year, but I am thinking it
will be a white one for us here.
  

In the news here in town, the school board has closed one of our
beloved middle schools. It was built back in the 20’s for 800
children, but when it got down to 200 there, they just could not keep
it open financially any more. Now the 6th graders will be put back in with the grade
school kids and the 7th thru 9th will be included in the High School
I spent 3 memorable years in that building before going to the new
high school when they opened it. Coming from grade school to that
HUGE building, I got lost more times that I can count. Three floors
and so many rooms it was hard for a newbie to get used to. I sure hope
they can figure something out to use it for something else. It would be
a real shame to let it sit and deteriorate like so many other schools
here in town. Our town has gotten so small that we will only have
2 schools left. It is a sad thing. Sad
 
WELL HOPE YOU ALL WILL HAVE A GREAT SATURDAY PLANNED..
STAY SAFE AND WARM AND HAPPY!!  
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. Have a good weekend Sis and I hope there is some sort of rest in there for you too. It worries me to know you are so rushed, exhausted and stressed.

  2. Try and get some time for yourself this weekend. I know how hard it is on you and your sister. I hope things continue to get better for your mom.

  3. I’m sure you’ll make it the best Christmas you can under the circumstances. There’s always next year. It will be different but that’s ok.I hope they find something good use for the old school building. The architecture is beautiful.Take care now and have a good weekend.

  4. I went to a very old school that is not turned to a records building of some sort..it used to actually have a bomb shelter of some sort…lots of ghost stories about that…then there was another really old one that was a middle school that they closed but a church bought it so it’s still in use. I pray that somehow or another it is a very good Christmas for you my friend.

  5. Oh Carol, I bet you are runned ragged. It’s hard having a love one in the hospital and you are the one on guard. I’ve been there done that and I know what you are going through. Foremost take care of yourself so you can take care of your Mom. Get rest when you can there will be more Christmases but I;m sure you are doing your best do give one for your Mom. Thinking of you and yours, Hugs always to you. Patsy

  6. Awww. I had just fond memories of that place…having to run up to the third floor from the basement after racing to my locker. Loved that building (and hated it at times too!) and hope they can find a good use for it. It does hold many fond memories. You’d think they’d at least keep the pool going—not many high schools these days have a pool at all! So sorry that you have to run yourself ragged during the holidays, but know your Mom will appreciate yoru efforts. Hope she can return home soon after the holidays. Take care of yourself and know we are all pulling for you and your Mom!

  7. It’s ok if you don’t bake this year. I’m sure all your friends understand you’re very busy and there’s only so much one can do, and you’re doing way more than any of us. Hope you get a moment to yourself to rest and relax. Take care and say Hi to Mom for me. You’re both always in my thoughts.

  8. The new trend is to take a building like that and turn it into loft type apartments & Condos…. if they do, it’ll be a wonderful place for people and there are a lot of folks my age flocking to that sort of thing.I’m sorry to see it go. It’s such a wonderful old building and has such character. Many, many students have passed through that building on to bigger and better things.Yes… do decorate your mom’s room. If you go to Home Depot or Dollar General, I’ll bet that they have tiny oraments for the tree. In a pinch, you and Sis and Mom could all make orniments for the tree. It would kill time and be fun. Just get epoxy and then you can use macaroni glued together and popcorn strings for garland…Have a great day!

  9. Your mom will love the decorations and things you do to make her room more comfortable. Take time to relax a little yourselves. She need you and your sister so try to take it as easy as you can.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

