A DAY OFF!

Standard

glitter-graphics.com

I had whole day off yesterday.. Oh I did work here at home sort
of. but I never left my house! I realized about noon time that
it was my first one since November. Wow, could that be right??Thinking
Yep. Sis visited mom after she came back from a treatment. She
had had a particularly hard day there. Was pretty confused and
gave the workers a hard time. Being tired and have a treatment
is pretty stressful on her. She never did calm down most all day
long. The RN told us to just leave her be and maybe she would
eventually. Works for me. I called later she was fine. Maybe
we are over-doing it with the visits but when we don’t go we hear
from her about it too. You just can’t win. Eye-rolling


glitter-graphics.com

 H1N1 Here I come!!
I called the local health department yesterday too. They told me that
ALL H1N1 SHOTS are FREE! Wow , I had no idea that was true. I heard
a rumor about it.. but don’t trust everything I hear. They have opened it to
all people now regardless of age etc. ONE hangup.. only ONE day a week
so far. Naturally.. the place was packed. I decided to try again next week
maybe go earlier and see if I could get one. Wish me luck!! 

Today another trip out of town with mom in the wheelchair van. She thinks of
those fellas as her personal chaffeuers now. I told her not to get too used to
it because eventually she will need to be able to ride in the car again. We have had
many drivers lately and every one of them very good with her. Sis and I have had
certificates  made for them so they will know how appreciative we are .Smile
 

WELL Off to the day now..

 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. It was time for you to have a day for yourself. I know how hard it is to do that when someone you love is sick.Big hug for you all.

  2. I don’t think you can over do with the visits. I do agree with the nurse tho, if she’s wound up and cranky you might as well go home, she’ll unwind faster with no one around to pester. I know you love you mom and want to do whats best. So does she. And clearly everyone else does, too, because you see how much other families stop by for a visit.Relax and don’t worry. You’re doing exactly the right thing. You’re wonderful yourself, making certificates for the drivers… you’re going to totally make their day!!

  3. A day off must feel like pure gold, it always does to me. Endless tests and interrupted nights would take their toll on anyone I think, I’m sure that the visits you have are appreciated. Great idea on the certificates, it never hurts to show people you appreciate what they’re doing. Have a great day as well my friend.

  4. Your day off must have felt wonderful, glad you were able to do it! Good news on the H1N1, sure hope you can get yours soon. I don’t know how your county will do it but in Livingston where I live they book appointments & you are in and out in under 15 minutes! Very well run and organized, no lines or long waits, and free as well.

  5. Good to year you’ll be able to get the vaccine. We’re scheduled first thing on Monday morning. You should really try to have one day a week like this. Kind of to reset and sort of get back to normal again.

  6. So glad you could finally have a day off. It IS important for your mental health (as well as physical) to do that once in a while. Gives you a chance to regroup! Hope your day is all that you hoped!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

