Daily Archives: December 21, 2009

SLOW GOING..

Standard
THINGS are slow going here and I guess other places
even worse after getting all that snow that fell over
the weekend. First day of winter really came early. Smile
Yesterday I snowblowed the driveway only to find there
was a lot of ice under that snow. I decided to let some
of the snow stay as it was easier to manage it that way.
Sis slid out into the street on Friday night so..guess that
was a good decision. Street crews will not clean much
snow away on the side streets in this town on the weekends.
They don’t have money for the overtime. They only plow
and salt the major arteries we found out.
 
Sunday I spent trying to make goodies again to give away.
I use the word TRYING because I got delayed many times.
I searched for a treat to make and ended up with macaroons
 
and boy was I glad it was simple and fast. I added the
red and green jimmies for the Christmas touch. They
came out good and the recipe made a lot. After I learned
I was making them WAY too big that is. The walnut size
ones were over the top!! The recipe doesn’t tell a person that
you should bake them on tin foil sprayed either but I found that
the best way.
Here is the recipe.. You Cant’t Mess It Up.. as there are only
three ingredients……
MACAROONS
Cook Time: 8 minutes
Ingredients:
•16 ounces shredded coconut
•1 can (14-15 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
•2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Preparation:
Directions for coconut macaroons
Mix all ingredients together. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto generously greased baking sheets.
 (USE TIN FOIL SPRAYED)
Bake at 350° for 8 minutes. Cool coconut macaroons slightly; remove to rack.
Makes about 4 to 5 dozen coconut macaroons
WATCH IT.. those bags of coconut come at 14oz and not 16oz so make sure
you have enough.. if they are too sticky they will not turn out good.
People have drizzled melted chocolate over them after
they are done. I made some for Sis and she said they tasted like
a MOUNDS bar. YUM!
Visited mom later in the day and we watched a movie and saw
many deer moving through the fields near there. Trying to find
eats in the snow…it was slow going for them too.
 
Off today to make some deliveries and get my H1N1 shot and do some
much needed chores that have been neglected. Whew.. there never seems
to be enough time….
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
SLOW GOING…

Standard
THINGS are slow going here and I guess other places
even worse after getting all that snow that fell over
the weekend. First day of winter really came early. Smile
Yesterday I snowblowed the driveway only to find there
was a lot of ice under that snow. I decided to let some
of the snow stay as it was easier to manage it that way.
Sis slid out into the street on Friday night so..guess that
was a good decision. Street crews will not clean much
snow away on the side streets in this town on the weekends.
They don’t have money for the overtime. They only plow
and salt the major arteries we found out.
 
Sunday I spent trying to make goodies again to give away.
I use the word TRYING because I got delayed many times.
I searched for a treat to make and ended up with macaroons
 
and boy was I glad it was simple and fast. I added the
red and green jimmies for the Christmas touch. They
came out good and the recipe made a lot. After I learned
I was making them WAY too big that is. The walnut size
ones were over the top!! The recipe doesn’t tell a person that
you should bake them on tin foil sprayed either but I found that
the best way.
Here is the recipe.. You Cant’t Mess It Up.. as there are only
three ingredients……
MACAROONS
Cook Time: 8 minutes
Ingredients:
•16 ounces shredded coconut
•1 can (14-15 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
•2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Preparation:
Directions for coconut macaroons
Mix all ingredients together. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto generously greased baking sheets.
 (USE TIN FOIL SPRAYED)
Bake at 350° for 8 minutes. Cool coconut macaroons slightly; remove to rack.
Makes about 4 to 5 dozen coconut macaroons
WATCH IT.. those bags of coconut come at 14oz and not 16oz so make sure
you have enough.. if they are too sticky they will not turn out good.
People have drizzled melted chocolate over them after
they are done. I made some for Sis and she said they tasted like
a MOUNDS bar. YUM!
Visited mom later in the day and we watched a movie and saw
many deer moving through the fields near there. Trying to find
eats in the snow…it was slow going for them too.
 
Off today to make some deliveries and get my H1N1 shot and do some
much needed chores that have been neglected. Whew.. there never seems
to be enough time….
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!