TRAVEL NIGHTMARE…

Standard

glitter-graphics.com

TRAVELERS NIGHTMARES SOON OVER…
MOST people traveling over this holiday time are having
quite the time of it. Funny how the US Government would
pass a LAW so that NO PERSON has to sit in a plane longer
than 3 hours and it go into effect A F T E R the holidays when
people are NOT traveling as much. The recent snowstorms
had passengers sitting in planes up to 6 hours and more!!
Terrible conditions and no hope of getting back to a terminal.
Hmmm Thinking seems to me that SOMEONE someplace could
have made that law go through much faster than 120 days.!! 
I mean if some Senators or Congressmen were themselves
sitting in those planes going nowhere…maybe just maybe..
things might have went a lot faster!! Wink
 More snow and bad weather coming again which may cause a lot
of trouble Christmas eve would make this driver think twice about
flying anywhere and more like trying GROUND transportation
choices. (That is just me though! Wink)
 
Talk about slippery..underneath our streets here was ICE.. plenty of
it ..took two days to get where I wasn’t sliding out of the driveway.
Normally I wouldn’t worry about it.. but with MOM elsewhere and I having
to go visit her "house" it’s a strain. Word of freezing rain on Christmas
Eve or day really sounds like a nightmare to me. Glad I won’t be out in
it. Mom’s treatment will be on Saturday this week and I will be sweating
it out unil they arrive back to her "house" safe and sound. Sure not used to
all the action in the winter weather. Nurses at the treatment say mom is fine
now until she has to go back to her "house" in the weather. A tense time
for an 83 year old, especially seeing cars in ditches and swerving all over
the roads. Sheesh!Sad Winter  BAH HUMBUG!!


glitter-graphics.com

Spent most of yesterday in the kitchen baking and visiting mom. Sis got her shot
but I am waiting for a week or so. Attended the bake sale at mom’s "house"
we bought her several cookies. All proceeds went to the needs of the residents
of the tendercare. Her diet is so bland that a cookie or two is very welcomed!
She came back from her treatment with gifts from the center. They had had a
party afterwards and she ate pigs in a blanket and had CAKE! She was so excited.
Her granddaughter showed up with her husband for a visit and we had
another party in her room. I called later and the Rn told me she was "KONKED
OUT" in her room by 5 PM. What a day she had! Smile They put her to bed early.
Well that’s up to date with things here. I have a massive job ahead of cleaning
up the house and delivering items to people here and there.
 
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY TODAY!!  STAY SAFE,WARM AND WELL!!!
 

 

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. Good Morning Carol hun, hoping by to let you know I am still kicking and of course to wish you a very Merry Christmas and all the best in 2010. I am so glad that Mom is settled in a "house" now and is coming to enjoy it and accept it. Takes a little bit of work from you and allows you to have some me time for "YOU". We all need a bit of that from time to time. Take care and God bless……….Rusty ((HUGS))

  2. Carol, Be carefull out there on that ice. People in Washington DC can move fast on things that they should take time to understand, but move on those that need to handled fast. Glad to hear that your MOM is doing okay. The little woman is sore this morning, she had her power port put inplace yesterday.Have a Merry CHRISTMAS and may 2010 be better.

  3. Oh Sis, do be careful. I know you will but still watch extra carefully. I hate driving in those conditions and like you, there have been times when I did. Being a Michigander though, you are more used to it than I could ever be.Hugs to your mom and you.XXOO

  4. Driving in this not what anyone wants for sure. You be very careful out there. I too would be on pins and needles until I knew she was back safe and sound.

  5. Just finished reading a weather report BOB sent me about all the weather you guys are going to have at Christmas. Please be really CAREFUL! Thanks goodness she is in town now and not in another town. Sounds like she really enjoyed the company yesterday! So nice that they visited her at this time of year. REALLY glad you don’t have to FLY anywhere for the holidays. Thinking about you!

  6. Wow… busy day. You know, there’s a reasy why I drive where ever I go and it’s totally because of the long waits in weather problem.Sounds like your mom had an exciting time. Good for her! I hope she has more days like that!

  7. I noticed that they passed that law so people didn’t have to sit so long…I’ve been there and it sucks. I pray that everyone on the roads remains safe through this whole storm. We’ve got fog and the most beatiful crystal "thorns" on everything…it’s seems pretty Christmas like. Happy housecleaning…I’m sure it’s all worth it in the end!

  8. I’m so happy to hear that your mom had a great day even if it was tiring. That makes for a happy sleep. I love the pic of her sitting at the window, it reminds me of my mom. You know I haven’t even been downtown to see the decorations this year. I mostly take the back roads to avoid the traffic but it looks like your town did it up good. I have been running around so much that I’m dizzy but I wanted to make sure I got here to wish you, your mom and your sis a very Merry Christmas. I know it will seem different this year with her at her "house" but hopefully she’ll be back home soon. So Merry Christmas Carol!Many hugs and much loveSherry

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

