HERE WE GO AGAIN!!

Standard
 
For those of you who don’t know. Mom was put back in the
hospital last night again. This time she has a bad infection
and it will take time to get over it. She was so out of it she
doesn’t even know us at all. She does seem to be more alert
than she was last night and that means some progress.
 
We learned more about how the process of rehab-nursing homes
are set up. We did not know that every single time you go out to
the hospital from one you have to sign  out or pay
a FEE to hold the room until you get back. Here it was $200.
and we sure didn’t want to pay that! So off we went this afternoon
and took everything out of her room. That room she didn’t like in
the first place is the only one left available in the building they told
us. So.. we wait and see how she progresses and if that room
gets occupied in her absence we try for another town. The thought
of that is distressing in a way mostly because of access of getting
to her in a hurry. So things have been hectic here running here and there
and trying to stay up with what’s going on from minute to minute.
Luckly we have some wonderful people WE KNOW who are helping her
to get better. She is on the same floor that she was back in November
so it is nice to see famiilar faces.
Sorry the news is not the greatest but it is what’s been going on here.
It has been cold and we have had some flurries on and off for
several days. Thank Goodness we don’t have inches to deal with.
I am happy about that.
Gas here today was 2.64 in one town and 2.79 in another. I heard
there was an increase coming and filled up before the price changes
again.
 
Here’s hoping that all of you
 
HAVE A GREAT DAY!!.
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. Oh Sis. I had no idea in the world that nursing homes were like that. In an awful sort of way, it makes sense as there are likey more than one person at any given time for a bed. I have learned a lot in the poast several weeks that I had no idea of whatever.Love you..Sis

  2. Grim news indeed but you sound about prepared for it as you could be. I’m watching the snow endlessly fall as my mom heads out of town. She’s got to come back for some tests before her surgery to deal with her parathyroid…when it rains it pours or in this case when it snows…it’s a winter storm warning through Wednesday…that’s my little world in a nutshell. Grace Lord!

  3. Carol, I am so sorry for what your mom is going through and what you and your sister are having to cope with. Prayers for you all.Hugs,Beth

  4. Boy, that’s the pits! You’d think they could hold the room for at least a week before charging a fee. There must really be a line for those rooms. Hope things work out for you and maybe you can bring her home soon. Thank goodness the weather seems to be cooperating at this time. Gas is around $3 here too.

  5. This really stinks! But I don’t get it…if there’s such a shortage of beds, why did they need to close up the wing Mom was in before? Sorry this is just another snag you have to deal with. Stay strong and keep the faith.

  6. Oh Carol I’m so sorry to hear this. I keep hoping to read that she’s better and you’re taking her home. I will say an extra prayer for her and for you to stay strong. I know how disappointed and worried you are. Love and hugsSherry

  7. Carol, so sorry to hear that your mom is under the weather…. I hope she gets better soon and please take care of yourself too… hugs, lottemae

  8. I’m so sorry your mom is sick again. It’s too bad. I wonder, maybe your mom would do better at home with in home care one her infection is taken care of… is that a possibility? I don’t know if she has extra insurance, but maybe it’d be worth it if it helps her get better quicker and in a place she know she’s loved…

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

