GETTING WHAT’S PROMISED!!

Standard
OKAY.. you will never believe it… I was shocked today
when going into mom’s building at tendercare the
administrator came up to me and said "You have a minute
to talk?" I told him yes. We went inside his office and he shut
the door. I thought to myself.. either this is good or this is bad.
Please GOD.. let it be GOOD for once! Sis and I spent almost all
day in the facility yesterday getting mom situated in her new
room etc. Maybe they don’t particularly like that. Maybe
she fell again.. maybe the roommate has issues. Many things
went through my mind in a split second. He sat behind his desk and
gave me a big grin. "NO.. don’t worry it is nothing bad." I guess he
saw my concerned face.Smile
 
Seems awhile back he PROMISED me that mom was put on the
TOP of the list for a small private room for one person.There are
only two in the whole building.  He told me
then that it would be soon. "Soon" in the rehab can be quicker than
you think it can. Things happen, and change at any time and sometimes
then, they take a long time too. Thinking Seems the woman in the room now
is leaving in a few days. Her 100 days are up and she has healed and
rehabilitated from a broken leg. He tells me there is one catch to the
room.  (DARN.. I knew it was too good to be true!) The catch is…
the room can only be used by people who are going to be leaving
and are not staying permanently. We are hoping mom will be able
to rehab too. I told him YES we would take the room for the 55 days
that she has left there. I am aware that keeping the room may be problematic
because when she leaves to have her next procedure she will be going to
the hospital. DARN.. we will have to PAY to keep it for her for the days
that she is away. IS IT WORTH IT?? I don’t know but her peace of mind and
happiness is.. Talk about trouble. If she stays in the hospital too long,
we will be forced to give up the PRIMO room in the place.  Sad Guess
we can just hope that she recovers fast enough to be sent back
to tendercare in just a few days. 
 mom11.jpg
Her room now is pretty tight.. she requires a lift for getting in the bed
and such.. hard to believe after the progress that she had made. The other
woman is gone much of the day playing games and things. Good thing because
she says it is hard maneuvering two wheelchairs in that space. Too bad they
make the rooms so small. Whatever were they thinking??
 
So in a day or two we will be moving mom’s things into a nice
new "house"…one with two ,count them, TWO large windows and
a private bathroom. Let’s PRAY that she stays well until she can
enjoy it!!  Smile
YES.. that is a long hallway and all those rooms
are empty!! Many residents come back to the hallway
just to get away from the other end of the building
where it is noisy now. They sure do miss their
single room days.  This is the wing they closed. Just sad!
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!
 
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

6 responses »

  1. Institutional life is a whole different dimension isn’t it? I pray that things work out for you guys and that something good will work for the long run andn to just the short. We’re caring for my mom in our home…I am reminded of what a blessing it is to be able to do that. Blessings to you my friend.

  2. I’m so glad your Mom is going to get her private room. I know this is a big load off your mind. Hopefully she will be well enough soon to come home with you. You take care of you and hopefully you are getting some rest. Stay warm and hugs to all three of you.

  3. Yeah for the private room! What a shame they actually had to close down part of that building. You’d think they would fill up those rooms easily in this day and age! Hope the weather does get warmer for you and lets some of that ice melt. Take care and stay well!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

