WHAT A WEEK!!

Standard
This week seems like it lasted two weeks long. Started
when mom fell and then tried to get back to her old self.
A change in rooms brought more sleep and confidence in
herself and what she could do physically. Her diet, therapy and
attitude took a complete turn into the positive.
Now all we have to do is keep her from falling down and
hurting herself. She has made a real game out of tricking
the aides and the nurses. Keeping them from knowing she
is doing what they asked her NOT to do by herself.
Today I found her like this..
 
1014370.jpg
Bless her heart….
She didn’t want to get the bedspread dirty so she put her feet
on the wheelchair. She managed to outwit all the aides so I brought
them all in to see what I was seeing. She wasn’t supposed to be able
to get up at all without them knowing about it. Tricky.. YES SHE IS!
She was sound asleep until we woke her. The look on her face was
priceless. SmileAll the nurses and aides say she is a favorite in there because
she tries hard to follow the rules.. at least SOME OF THEM. LOL Wink
##################################################################
It wasn’t necessarily really cold here today but it was that kind of cold
that goes right to your bones. DAMP! We should be having a nice week
here of temps in the 30’s though… a lot nicer than the teens of last week.
Got my GAS bill and nearly fainted.. wow.. it doubled from the last one
even with me cutting it back because I am hardly home as much as
I was last year. Will be glad when spring gets here for sure. Easier for
us all I guess.
##################################################################


glitter-graphics.com

 
 P.S.   Sending my heartfelt prayers to Patty and Jerry at the loss of
their beloved pet Toby. Red heart 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. It was that kind of weather here today too. Your mom is thinking as she figured out a way not to put her feet on the bedspread. I got my gas bill too and it had more than doubled.I am so sorry for Pat and Jerry. I know they are grieving now.

  2. The spirit in your Mom is like my Mom!Life can make it tough but the Philly cannot be corralled easily.Thank God for those who can’t be broke eh?Blessings, positive thoughts and energy, and Hugs to you from up here in Alaska

  3. That’s a very clever woman! I admire that to be sure! We’re caring for my mom as you know at home now that she’s got a broken ankle from her fall. The steps to recover sure take their sweet time it seems but a step in the right direction is a good thing no matter how large or small. I am totally with you about spring…I miss it so much!

  4. OH my, your mother is definitely a woman strong in spirit! Remind me of my mom all those years ago. Take care and hugs, lottemae

  5. Bless her heart. I know they don’t like being told they can’t do something and waiting until they’re strong enough is frustrating so they keep trying. Wanting the warmer weather is something I too am so looking forward too.Hugs for your mom and you girls.

  6. Well isn’t she a clever one lol. The hardest thing for us is to admit we can’t do what we use too. That is what got my dad most of all. We can’t give up tho and your mom is a great example of that.Hugs all around.Sherry

  7. She is a crafty one, isn’t she! Just be glad she lost the weight she used to have and CAN actually get around better some. But she does risk hurting herself. Tell her to get well fast so she can GO HOME and be safe there. Maybe a suggestion like that will curb her independence and make her think about just getting well quicker…

  8. This blog made me chuckle… yes… they do try to do things on their own as they are sure they can… I’ll bet that look was deadpan!

  9. Your Mom is my kinda woman!! A rebel, without a Pause! Like you!Fire going, soup on the way and so is lots more rain. They are saying 10" by the weekend and 5 more storms next week. If it was snow, it would be 12 feet!Take care of yourself and your momBob~

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

