CATCHING UP

Standard
Stil having troubles posting but here goes..
JAN 16…
Mom’s  new private room is nice.. very nice.. Clean and shiny.. they
worked until late into the night to make it just
right for her. She hugged the administrators neck
when he came in to ask her how she liked her new room.
  dscn1278f.jpg
Large windows and a great view made an easy way to
see the deer that were passing in the yard next to her room.
She hadn’t seen them in weeks. That is a large easy chair with cup
holders. She puts her hands inside them to help steady her
to get into her chair. It works well for her. She has a way
to go to get better but we hope her 50 some days there
will be comfortable and happy.
JAN 17
This week seems like it lasted two weeks long. Started
when mom fell and then tried to get back to her old self.
A change in rooms brought more sleep and confidence in
herself and what she could do physically. Her diet, therapy and
attitude took a complete turn into the positive.
Now all we have to do is keep her from falling down and
hurting herself. She has made a real game out of tricking
the aides and the nurses. Keeping them from knowing she
is doing what they asked her NOT to do by herself.
Today I found her like this..
 
1014370.jpg
Bless her heart….
She didn’t want to get the bedspread dirty so she put her feet
on the wheelchair. She managed to outwit all the aides so I brought
them all in to see what I was seeing. She wasn’t supposed to be able
to get up at all without them knowing about it. Tricky.. YES SHE IS!
She was sound asleep until we woke her. The look on her face was
priceless. SmileAll the nurses and aides say she is a favorite in there because
she tries hard to follow the rules.. at least SOME OF THEM.
JAN 21
BIG NEWS…
The place where mom is was inspected yesterday by the
state of Michigan. The surveyors posted signs everywhere
in the building. They offered a time for residents and family members
to talk to them also. Sis and I were both in the building. What an
opportunity. We didn’t have time to talk much to them..but they
heard what was on MY mind. I had plenty of GOOD things to report
as well as the fact that some nurses seem to NOT be communicating
well as they could with others. I watch them go through their
shift changes and drug counts and such but sometimes things slip
by them. I am sure in the next few days that we will hear from staff
how they think it went. Some people WILL talk in there and when you
are there as much as I AM… you do overhear them talking
among themselves. Some residents Sis has told me are alert and
they notice Everything so they will also talk to us.  Mom has had
some weird times in there and it was all revealed to me when I
learned WHY. Seems her medication was of the sedative kind and
she was a little over-tired Sarcastic and was kinda loopy. Meds are
necessary some of the time and others it is (In My Opinion) not!
YEP. .had discussions on that too.
Got to be very watchful for sure. I sure do feel for those in there
who don’t have an advocate working with them to keep
and eye out for there health too.
Therapists told me yesterday they want a “home visit”
to check out what things  may have to be changed as
mom inches closer to coming home. That still has to
be scheduled. In her present state she is okay but
she has not yet had her LAST procedure in a hospital
so we will see what happens then. I have much to do
before the home visit cleaning wise since I am gone
so much lately anyway.
WELL enough news from here must get to the chores
at hand.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Here’s another picture from yesterday.. a new person is now
in residence across the hall and mom just had to go say hello..
she is getting more friendly as her stay progresses there.
The only thing she doesn’t like is when we visit we leave
and she thinks it is too soon!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

2 responses »

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

