THERE SHE GOES…

Standard

tags:by CAROL

Today the therapist decided to have mom walk more. She had not walked much in several days, so she was reluctant. She had her treatment today and was pretty weak when she got back. They let her take a nap and then brought some of the equiptment to her room for her to use. Nurses reported she did well despite the fact that she had been up most of the night before. Why she is up so much is a mystery. I think it is the time in which mom is given meds but no one else agrees with me. We will see.

She was evaluated yesterday on her mental state of mind. She has been more confused lately and the consensus is that the kidney failure has progressed more and she has lost some of her sharpness. I asked her today if it was night or daytime. She said she didn’t know. It was pretty cloudy and gray outside. I was pretty surprised at what she had said. The lights in the hallway are dimmed at nighttime, in the daytime it is quite bright there. Going from ones room to the hallway can be a surprise. Mom left the facility at 5:30 AM and returned near noon! Only one other person in the facility has that kind of schedule. It really is tiring.  Her day had already gone in her mind. I suppose with little sleep she thought it was night time… who knows really.

It was quite the accomplishment walking that distance. The therapist said he was looking for her strengths not the length of the walk etc. He never pushes her more than she can do. I suppose she may feel the soreness tomorrow we will see. Tomorrow is another day…

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. Such a lot of things for you both to deal with. I know that recovery is often a step forward and a step (or more) back. I pray that you both are able to find a fresh new grace with each new day my friend. God bless you!

  2. That’s great for mom! I know that there are some disheartening things, but there are some good things, too. She’s walked, even after being completely exhausted.Hugs! My thoughts and prayers are with you!!

  3. It IS good to see her walking…I had always thought she was toooo reliant on the wheelchair—even when I was there visiting you 3 years ago! I hope she will gain strength and be able to go home without too many problems. Keeping our fingers crossed!

  4. @SUE she has degenerative arthritis in both knees and refused replacements so.. she can’t walk very far without a whole lot of pain involved. It has gotten a whole lot worse over the years. : (

  5. oh my I do feel for her and you it is so frustrating to want to do things for her when there is nothing you can do, but I do feel you could be right about the timing of the meds . I know when I take mine certain ones keep me up and others knock me right out ..My thoughts and prayers are with you and your mom

  6. Poor thing, It breaks my heart that she is getting confused like that and not be sure if it’s day or night. I would imagine a lot of it has to be her schedule, especially if she isn’t sleeping well at night. It is good to see her walking even for a little bit. My dad’s doctor always told him to keep it up cause if you do use it you lose it and I’ve seen that happen to so many senior’s.Hugs to you all.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

