BUSY DAY

Standard
Had a whole lot of things planned today to do and as
usual they all got changed in a blink of the eye. Mom was
not doing too well after her treatment which meant that
I had to stay with her for most of the day. It amazes me that
things change from treatment to treatment and some days she
is just fine and others not. Anyway.. just as she got up from her
second nap in her afternoon a commotion started happening
and people began to move quickly. An alarm that was not
familiar sounded and I went to see what was going on.
 
Water was coming from the lighting fixture in the ceiling of
the hallway that had been closed to much of the patients
there. Thank Goodness it happened when it did. Mom and
I had  been down that hallway earlier looking at the deer that
had come out of the woods to find food. Any sooner and we would
have been caught and drenched!Eye-rolling
 
( I am still posting pics from a host and not directly as I am still having
trouble..hope they are not blurry as they seem to be to me.)
The staff started moving people and changing rooms and turning off
water and calling in help. Within a few minutes the whole hallway was
closed off and you could hear the sound of the wet vac sucking up
water. Good thing it happened when it did.. remember that last week
the state inspectors were there Wink. Boy that would not have looked good.
We counted 8 deer this time and no bucks among them. Mom loves
counting and watching to see if there are any babies among them, they
are the most active and fun to see.
It was bitterly cold here today again with below zero wind chills..
 but the sun was shining brightly. It was
just fine with me..I was glad we didn’t get all the snow they got south of us.
It promises to be warmer this next week and I sure will be glad!
Well…
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A WONDERFUL SUNDAY!!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. Yupper, I have seen that happen at work..the ol’ water in the light fixture thing. Hi Sis, I enjoyed seeing your mom there perched watching the deer. Making me smile. And thank goodness you had some decent weather!

  2. Things with long term recovery really can be difficult, I’m sorry for that my friend. The up and down routine is so familiar to me. I like the picture of the deer, I really do love seeing them. They come around here on occasion but we have more antelope around usually. Lately it’s been horrible outside and still my lung infection keeps me from doing all that I would like to do. My prayers are with you my friend, grace to you.

  3. Sounds like good timing for the water leak. Hope they find the source and that it doesn’t become a problem in other areas of tendercare. Most likely, you won’t be seeing any bucks because they shed their antlers in the winter. In a month or so, you may see bumps on their heads as the next set starts growing.

  4. Those deer are fun to watch. We don’t see as many right where we live, but occassionally one leaps our fence and feasts in our garden. Nikki, our dog, just watches them mostly—since they’re not threatening, she doesn’t chase them. Can’t believe January is nearly gone. Hope your Mom is feeling better today.

  5. Glad she wasn’t caught in the water line break. Deer are fun to watch! We have various size herds of antelope that wonder around our home.

  6. Carol, I am so glad to hear you and your mom was not caught in that hallway! The pic of the deer and your mom watching them are wonderful. Dad and I are coping with the ice and snow. Your friend, Lisa.

  7. Sorry to hear about Mom not doing so well today. Good days and bad days… that’s the road to recovery. Also glad Mom didn’t get drenched!

  8. Sure glad you didn’t get caught and drenched in water. Wonder what happened. Love the photos! Hope mom is doing better now.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

