SUPERBOWL SUNDAY..

Standard
Gathered my goodies for Superbowl night and seemed
like everyone was in the store yesterday. Very busy where
I was. They ran the specials on chips and dips and drinks
as usual. I got to thinking about how the Supebowl got it’s
name.. Came across this on line thought maybe some of
you had not heard it either..
 
Some Super Bowl Trivia:  The first Super Bowl (1967) was broadcast on
 both NBC and CBS (with different announcers).  Did you know that the
 Super Bowl got it’s name from an 8-year old girl?  Sharron Hunt was
the young daughter of Lamar Hunt, the owner of the Kansas City Chiefs.  At the
time she was playing with a small rubber ball called a “super ball
From watching his daughter he got the idea that the pro football
championship game be called the “Super Bowl”. Lamar suggested
that name to the other owners and they bought the idea!  For some
Super Bowl trivia…click here and click here. In most years the Super
Bowl is the #1 most watched TV program of the entire year. 
 It’s the 2nd top day of the year for food consumption in the U.S. during the year –
 Thanksgiving Day is #1.  The Pittsburgh Steelers have played in the most Super Bowls (6).
  Four teams haven’t been in a Super Bowl (Jacksonville, Houston, Cleveland and of course the Lions). 
 Michigan has hosted the Super Bowl twice…in ‘82 at the Pontiac Silverdome and in ‘06 at Ford Field. 
 Those are the only two Super Bowls when snow was recorded at the stadium on game day. 
(GUESS they got smart and decided to only have them in warm states from
then on,) I am hoping for a good game and not one sided and lots of great commercials.
I saw on tv that more and more people are submitting their own commercials
this year and can win big money too.Smile Some of them are hilarious. Just goes to show
that AMERICAN people have a great sense of humor and talent.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ 
Snow is predicted here for Tuesday and onto Wednesday.. I was hoping it would move
more north of me. Traveling in that back and forth is impossible. Heck with 8" predicted
I won’t even get out of my Driveway without a PLOW.Sad I attempted to snow throw
that much last year and it took 2 days as my thrower is not that powerful. I wait to
see what God gives us…I am hoping not to have to stay over as they frown on that
at that hospital.Oh well a heavy snowfall would be an emergency I guess.
 
 
HOPE WHERE YOU ARE YOU HAVE A GREAT SUPERBOWL SUNDAY…
   THAT’S MY PICK..
Don’t care the score just so they WIN!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. Big snow predicted here for Tuesday and Tuesday night, 5 – 7 inches.I hope you get to watch the super bowl and that mom is doing well.Hugs!!

  2. We’ve got a delightful freezing drizzle advisory today…oh you know I just love that…not! I don’t watch football at all so I’ll be missing this one as well. I wouldn’t mind the good food everyone is having though!

  3. Our next storm hits on Tuesday here, but it looks mild compared to what we’ve had. Hope you can get your Mom back in Tendercare before it hits there. Interesting about the history of Super Bowl—I’ve tried to watch them every year too, but probably missed some when I lived in Santa Barbara. Don’t remember, anyway. Making finger food for the Super Bowl so we can veg out and watch the game! Go Saints!

  4. My Dad and brothers are big on football. When I was little I always connected the SuperBowl with the Holidays. I am not into it much anymore, but do love your pick. Go Saints! Your friend, Lisa.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

