SNOW DAY RECIPE..

Standard
On a snowy day here I always bake to make the house
smell good and all warm and cozy. I plan on making
those cookies again for the gals at the center where
mom is.
(sorry if this is blurry.. I am still hosting pictures
and posting them here.)
Here again is the recipe..
SUGAR COOKIE
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar  (must use this!)
1 cup butter ..(I use blue bonnet sticks)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp almond extract
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cream or tartar
Cream Wet, Mix Dry, Blend together with mixer or by hand.
Chill the dough ..(very important if it is too sticky it will not roll out.)
Roll to 1/8 to 1/4-inch thick & use cookie cutters, place cookies on
a floured cookie sheet, and bake…
375 degree oven, 7-8 min (or till done They don’t turn too brown, the browner
they are the crispier they will be. Icing them will make them softer the next day.
I use a simple powered sugar, milk,vanilla,and teaspoon of butter icing on them.
ENJOY!!
#################################################3
I have the crockpot going with beef stew and
will make biscuits to go with it for dinner. I am rarely
home anymore in the afternoons, but today with the snow
outside building, I will be home most of the day.
Funny how you don’t think you have a lot to do and then
when you get home.. it is all waiting for you.. Wink
##########################################################
Guess What??
Last evening when we visited mom she asked us..
WHEN did this surgery happen? She doesn’t remember
a thing at all about the whole weekend. Maybe that is a
blessing in disguise for her. The meds were too powerful
for her and so she had no recollection of the entire
thing. Amazing..because at the time she could talk
to us and was awake and talking etc. I feel an evaluation
of her comprehension again coming on soon.
##########################################################
Well off to shovel some of that fine snow that is falling. I must
say we sure don’t get the large flakes we used to get anymore.
Now THAT was pretty.. this looks like a foggy day.
########################################################
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!! 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. I shoveled this morning and there was a lot more snow than I thought. I will be glad when this mess is done.The cookies look delicious. Thank you for the recipe. If you will fix me a cup of tea I will be right there to share a couple of them with you.Hugs for you and mom.

  2. Those look good. I’m glad we don’t have snow. Interesting on Mom, wish I could offer some sort of help. HUGS!! You’re a real trooper!

  3. The cookies look delish. I’ll have to try your recipe, mine never taste quite right. Hopefully her confusion is just caused by the anesthesia and meds. Still sending prayers HugsSherry

  4. The cookies look delicious Carol! Please give your mom a gentle hug from me! Sounds like her not remembering the surgery is a good thing. Praying for a quick recovery! Your friend, Lisa.

  5. Oh gosh now you have me hungry! Those cookies look so good. I imagine those meds really knocked your Mom for ah loop. Like you said, maybe it’s ah good thing she don’t remember. Hugs to you.

  6. Hope those TINY flakes continue…but don’t count on that. The cookies look great and if it gets cold here (like it’s predicted), I may try making some chili (although Max hates the beans in it!). Made another batch of those brownies for the Super Bowl and they’re all gone—boy were they good. Sounds like your Mom is better and healing fast! We’re pulling for you all! Stay warm and dry and don’t shovel too much. Ooooh—Survivor is in only a day or so!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

