GETTING READY

Standard
WELL that is what I am doing right now. Getting ready
for DAYTONA.. it’s the biggest Nascar race of the year.
It starts the race season and it’s been three months since
they all really raced for something big. This year it falls
on Valentine’s Day of all things. Sis and I will be spending
time with mom and bringing her special treats and gifts,
and watching the pre-race activities on the tv.
Auto    Auto    Auto    Auto    Auto    Auto    Auto    Auto    Auto
I usually have something special cooked up for the
event. Nothing as elaborate as SuperBowl time , but
something special. This year being away from home
it will be Chili I can make in the crockpot. There are so many dishes
now  mom can’t have, so I am making them in the next
week or two before she gets home. I came across some Garden
Vegetable  cheese in the store and decided it would make
a nice addition to the fruit and crackers that I bought.
It tastes great if you have never tried it. This one has a combo
of four different cheeses in it. YUMMY..Smile
########################################################
I saw some of the opening of the Olympics last night before
I faded into slumber. It was colorful and innovative. I don’t
think it was as jaw dropping as the one in China though.
That one was breathtaking and I will remember for a long
long time. I was sorry to hear of the death of the olympian
in the LUGE(sp) I hope no one else will get injured this year.
#########################################################
WELL off to my day..
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!! Red heart
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. I too drifted off to sleep. It was so sad to hear about the young man. Will be watching the races too. Don’t make anything special to eat while watching. Weekends are a snack fest around here anyway.

  2. I watched the opening ceremonies of the Olypics too. I couldn’t believe that luge accident. I suppose the investigation that follows will shed more light on the whole thing. Going down that track at 92 miles an hour and being thrown from your sled sounds like a recipe for disaster any way you look at it. Have a good one my friend.

  3. I watched the opening and love it! They did a great job and it was so unusual! My heart goes out to that young man’s family. I hope they do something about that track. It’s scary.

  4. We watched part of the opening too, but it went on until Midnight, so we missed that last bit—can’t sleep in too much today. So sorry to hear about the Luge guy dying, but understand it wasn’t the fault of the track. That has to be one of the scariest sports out there. You won’t catch me doing it, for sure! Love all the other winter sports, especially the ice dancing and other skating events. Max can’t wait for the skiing and snowboarding. And I hope we can catch a bit of the curling as well??!!!

  5. I watched the opening and glad there was a narrader to tell us what it all meant. I kept thinking what else that 4o-some million dollars could have been spent on… hmm. Can’t git that kind of cheese here, but I remember it was good in WI.

  6. @Gloria.. YES always every year.. Daytona 500 is like the Superbowl of Nascar..winner stays the winner until the nextyear. It’s held this year on Valentines day.. cool huh!!? : )

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

