CRAZY SUNDAY

Standard
It sure was a crazy Sunday around here. Mom had complained that
she didn’t get any Valentine’s cookies or treats this year so I
went out to the store and bought a cake mix and fixed up some
cupcakes. Thank goodness Dunhan Hines has this new
snall mix that makes only a dozen. Light bulb So I made cupcakes
and took them out to her at the tendercare. Sis and I had bought
her balloons and such, but SWEETS is what is always on her mind.
The staff was so surprised and also some of the residents.
We gave some to those residents who did not recieve
any visitors this year. Staff arranged small bags of
treats to those patients also, but this added to the fun.
When I got there she had recieved a piece of appple pie with
her lunch. Eye-rolling Yes, she ate that and the cupcake I made.Surprised
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
This was Nascar Superbowl day. I usually have snacks and
popcorn but today I was having cupcakes! Smile
It ended up being the longest race in Nascar history.
6 hours totalled. Into the night it went on because of
natures demons  POTHOLES in the racetrack!!
The race was stopped for 1 1/2 hours and had a sort of
"halftime" break. Drivers ate, talked, napped etc while
the track was being fixed. I must say it took all the excitement
out of it and I hope they never have to do that again! Sad
They began the race again and then had to stop it a
SECOND time for a larger POTHOLE.. The recent rain
in Florida was said to be the cause. I gotta say I have never
had lunch and dinner during a race before. It sure was weird.
In the end a young guy, Jaimie McMurray.. who had had troubles even getting
sponsors, won the race..his tears of joy and speechless
expression showed how grateful he was. I was so happy for him.
It was quite a race day.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
It is cold here but not much snow. I sure am grateful for that.
Mom reported seeing 5 deer yesterday pretty close to the building
in the early morning.The snow was removed and there
was access to the ground cover. The young ones were
quite active. She sure is going to miss seeing them when
she goes home. She asked yesterday what they were
going to do with her room wehn she leaves and we told her someone
else will be lucky to get it, and they surely will.
WELL.. all from here…
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!! 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. Sounds like you had a great race day—although I’m not a racing fan. The cupcakes look delicious and so glad you went ahead and made them. You Mom appears to be doing much better lately. Looking forward to 24 tonight.

  2. The cupcakes look delicious with lovely decorations. that was a nice treat for your mom. Jamie McMurray was one of Jim’s favorites so I am sure he would have enjoyed the race. HUG!!!

  3. Looks like a good day all the way around and bless you for remembering the others in the facility who didn’t have any visitor. I woke to snow. 😦 but the sun is out now.

  4. I’m glad you guys did something nice for Valentine’s Day. I’ve never been a big fan of that day to tell the truth. Some friends of our brought us some special food for a belated birthday present so we had that and watched the Olympics for the day..I didn’t mind that a bit! I’m neither a footbal or race car fan so it’s rare for me to watch sports really…the Olympics is an exception. Have a great day my friend.

  5. I liked the halftime, the first one anyway.Got some chores done just like a football game.When they were trying to cold patch the hole I was wondering if they had any epoxy patch, which they finally used.I think they should have halftime and give them 15 minutes to fix their cars, and the drivers have to be out of their cars too, but that’s just me.

  6. Oh, what delicious looking cupcakes. I think I just gained 5 lbs. looking at them. Sounds like mom had quite a ‘sweet’ Valentine’s day. That race was something. Had there been two more laps there may have been a different outcome. So happy for Jamie McMurray. He did great.

  7. What a wonderful treat for your mom. You know Valentine’s Day is only once a year and she might just as well have a treat to enjoy… You did a wonderful thing and sharing them with the other residents is what makes us love you so much here on spaces.. You are so loving, caring, sharing and giving… God Bless you… hugs, lottemae

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

