WAIT JUST A MINUTE…

Standard
I say Wait a minute…..  The therapist tells me that Mom
is back to near where she was when she left before surgery. I
was amazed it happened so quickly.Surprised He said that in a week or
so she will be ready to go home. Well make that 17 days Mr.
Therapist.. We are staying to the end.. to the last of the 100
days we are allowed. She will need all the therapy she
can get because at home she will not get what they give
there 5 days a week. The home evaluation is coming up
on Friday of this week, hopefully, and then he can see
just how well she does at home. I am hoping she doesn’t
just want to STAY home once she gets there. I hope not!!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
Here is a pic of the hallway at the hospital where mom
was this last stay. The entire thing was covered in
wallpaper that looked like a forest pathway. To me
it looked small and dark like going down a tunnel.
It should have definitely been lighter.
This is the lobby.. You see why mom thought she
was in a hotel..
Beautful to look at, but not really like a hospital either.
The plants are REAL.. I checked them all out! I liked that
and the caretaker of them is doing a great job!! It’s too bad
that Mom doesn’t remember much of her stay there after that
lobby.Maybe that is a good thing, I sure don’t know.
 I am hoping that in the future she will not be given
such strong drugs as to knock her senseless for days. Totally
not necessary!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Tonight is the FIRST TIME in months that I am able to add a
photo by just clicking add photos. It is so nice to be able to
access things easily.. Sure won’t take that for granted again.Smile
I hope that is back for good now..I can dream I guess.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
Hope you all have a great Thursday!!
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

7 responses »

  1. That is good news about your mom. I think you would be wise for her to stay where she is as long as possible. Sometimes though Medicare says that is enough. I hope this doesn’t happen.I am glad you are able to add photos again. They are good ones.

  2. @ Beth Yes that is the 100 days that Medicare allows her to have, anything after that the patient has to pay out of pocket unless they go on MEDICAID and are permanent patients. She could go back after 60 days at home for another 100 if needed but she would probably NOT get the private room she has now. She does not do well with another person in the room with her. We tried it twice and it was a horrible time for her. It just won’t work.. : )

  3. I sure hear you on the drugs. Whatever they gave my mom when they needed to set her ankle knocked her for a loop…she didn’t remember a thing…but I’m pretty glad of that and it didn’t last for days. That is an interesting wall paper choice to be sure but I agree with you that it needs to be lighter…I like light places period…especially at the hospital. I wish you and your mom the best for the coming return home. I hate limited access to internet too…especially when you can’t put in a picture when you want…I’m glad you’re passede that hurdle my friend. Blessings to you.

  4. Wow, hard to believe that 100 days is almost up. In spite of not having deer to watch out the window, I’m sure she will be happy to be home, once she gets there. AND I hope she will want to get out and go more often…even for short walks down the sidewalk from time to time. She will definitely miss all the social scene she’s had at the Tendercare place, but it has been good for her. With her able to walk more, she should go with you as much as possible, just to keep her mentally happy. I know it’s hard to take her everywhere, but it might improve her attitude if she does go out more. Since its winter outside, this will actually be a good time for her to make the change, as she’ll be stuck inside for only a short while and be able to watch and wait for spring time.

  5. Loved the photos Sis..and though they need extra lighting in the hallway I think that was a creative thing they did. They were looking to make things nicer for the patients it would seem. That’s always good. 🙂

  6. So glad you mom is improving so well. Staying and getting all the therapy available is very important. Yes, the halls are too dark. It should be light and inviting as the people are dealing with enough downsides in their life. Hooray on the adding photos.

  7. I’m so excited to hear mom is almost back to where she was, that’s wonderful news! We have a Grand Piano in the lobby of our hospital but it’s bright and cheerful. I don’t know what they were thinking to decorate like that. Very strange if you ask me.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

