SMALL TOWN HELP…

Standard

SMALL towns have their downfalls and then again they
have their good aspects too. The other day I was struggling
getting that heavy snow removed from my driveway.
I had already shoveled the walks etc and decided to slowly
take the driveway to task. My snowblower kept sputttering
away and I pushed it as hard as I could. I was getting pretty
tired. All of the sudden an ANGEL appeared in a shiny plow truck
and cleared my whole driveway in about 2 minutes. I stood
there, tears in my eyes, because he saved me at least 2 hours
work. I tried to pay him but he waved goodbye with me
yelling a very loud THANK YOU.Smile
I learned that in a small town everyone knows each other and
they talk to each other. They pass the word along and all of
the sudden you get help. I worried over what would happen
if I had to take mom to her treatment in bad weather. How would I
get my driveway plowed out by a “reliable” person who could
do it at 4:30 in the morning? It doesn’t snow heavy every day,
only on occasion,but you have to have a plan.Thinking
Now I have had phone numbers and recommendations
coming from everywhere.Smile Sometimes you just have to love a small town
closeness. Sure things cost more and you can’t find things you can
find in the bigger cities, but in many ways it just is so darn nice!
I know now I have lots of options and hope I can put them to use.
Put a smile on my face all day long.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
It is snowing again this morning but not the heavy snow and it won’t last long.
I do have to clear away the snow again as Mom is ,hopefully, still scheduled
to come home for an hour or so to check things out with the therapists.
Keeping my fingers crossed for her that she doesn’t get too depressed she
can’t stay. If she insists she wants to come home early the social worker
told me it could be arranged in a day or so. As soon as her meds are transferred and
the bed ordered. Smile
###################################################################### 
 HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

2 responses »

  1. When I used to plow snow, I used to do that a lot.
    See an older person just put the shovel down for the first pass, and I wave them off and do the majority of it in 2 passes… nothing beats the smile you can put on someone’s face by doing something so simple. *S*

  2. One thing about snow is that it encourages thoughtfulness like this. My neighbor across the street took a snowblower to my walk yesterday. I didn’t even think he liked us. But we did appreciate it since I don’t own a snowblower myself.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

