SUNNY MONDAY

Standard
Monday started out sunny and cold here…rising to 60 they tell us,
I will be pleased if that happens.Sun You know how we know it is spring
around here?.. SKUNKS! Yep.. one scampered right in front of us
as we traveled in the dark this morning for mom’s treatment. The smell
is pretty evident that they are very active right now.Yikes.. lets just say
that woke both of us up reallly fast. LOL
 
I am somewhat out of sorts lately due to the new bed situation. As I had
my bed for years it is hard to get used to another one. A reporter stated
the other day that now you don’thave to turn your mattress over any
more you are just supposed to buy a new one every 5 years or so. I laughed
right out loud. WHAT!!?? Have they priced them lately? WHEW.. I sure wouldn’t
want to replace several in a family every five years…. we would all go
broke!  No thanks I will just turn mine and flip it like the old way
and make do. We now have steam cleaners that will "refresh" a mattress
and make it new again. Clear away all those dusty things that linger easy.
We have covers and zippered protectors..why replace the whole mattress?
 
It’s the same with pillows.. supposed to replace them too.. but I bet you anything
that most households don’t replace them as they are recommended..no way!
I can eventually get used to the new bed.. but DON’T MESS WITH MY PILLOW!
When I started using my buckwheat husk pillow.. it was over.. no more neck pain
or strain on my shoulders, It was a done deal. Since those pillows don’t have the
polyfiber filling..they never get worn out. I have purchased more though and our
home has many. So pardon me now.. I think I will catch a few Zzzzzzzzzzzz’s  Sleepy
All this sleep talk is making me drowsy!! LOL
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!! 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. Skunks? We’ve not had any skunks around here in a while but I can imagine they are starting to come out and forage at this point. I often wonder how they live with their own smell! We are supposed to hit near seventy today…if so it will be great to open up the windows and get some fresh air! I don’t think I’ll be replacing any beds around here for awhile no matter what they say…that must be a game for the rich. Have a great one my friend.

  2. Haven’t seen any skunks around here. Hope not too. I replace my pillow but not as often as I should. Hubby has one that makes me cringe when I change linen but he won’t let me toss it. I think it needs to start coming apart, ;-).

  3. My pillow is a VERY personal choice. I hunt and hunt till I can find a tolerable one..,then sleep on it until it is just right. I have to change now and then but very reluctantly.I am highly allergic to buckwheat, dang it, So I can’t try those type although I have wanted to. That so called advice about mattresses? In my opinion, a ploy to get more sold.

  4. I saw two dead skunks yesterday and smelled another one. Ahhhh yes, the aroma of spring! Jim has a pillow like Terry’s husbands pillow. He wouldn’t give it up for nothin! I really love my buckwheat hull pillows and I wouldn’t give them up for nothin’ either!I really think "they" say we should replace things often, just so "they" make more money. Not that it’s neccessary.

  5. Yes, the skunks are out. I see dead ones on the road all the time—thank goodness they’re not my doing. So you gave up your bed for your Mom?!! I hope she relizes the sacrifice you made—haven’t found anything like a buckwheat husk pillow. Where did you find it??? I have one of those memory foam pillows, but even it wears down eventually.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

