SUNDAY UPDATE..

Standard

I recently taped a show on ABC which involved the Chef Jamie Oliver from England. He is on a real quest to make food served in schools more healthy. It took me days to get time to see this show but I really wanted to. It is called FOOD REVOLUTION ..look for it!! The amount of work and hoops he had to jump through, both with the administration and the staff and even the federal government and their guidelines would make you dizzy. Boy was I shocked at how little the children of the schools knew. They had NO CONCEPT of what any kind of vegetable was. We are talking kids who are at least 4 and 5 years old. Did any of the children know what they were eating? Did any of them know how to use a knife and fork? All the schools provided was SPOONS. Shocking.. it sure was for me. Some education begins at home and that means that home life for these children does NOT consist of any kind of learning about basic use of table utensils. Kids only care about what tastes good and what is fast and simple to eat. I am sure their eyes were openend and maybe.. if this show begins to catch on the whole nation could jump on the band wagon. When I went to school.. (blah blah blah).. white milk only..you got a whole bottle to yourself. No flavors involved. I did chores at home and boy we KNEW what a simple thing like corn was and potatoes and even tomatoes. We snapped beans and helped make jam and jelly and can peaches. Today it is all the simple canned foods mostly and most of us are living in the hurry up generation. Time for change I truly believe it. We have children now who are at high risk for all kinds of problem illnesses.. diabetes, and more. I bet if you watch just one show you will be sold on the idea of making a change. There are many petitions floating about the internet wanting people to sign up and have some change come to their schools too. This next week he tackles the HIGH SCHOOL kids. The kids who have already learned they can eat junk and get away with it. I predict real chaos. Just my opinion anyway.. on what I thought of the show. Funny it takes a guy from ENGLAND to come to the USA to make changes for the better for U.S kids. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ Cool and damp here today.. making a pot of soup and maybe make some banana bread later. Next week promises to be glorious here with 70 degrees in the forecast.. OH HAPPY DAY.. I am putting my snowblower away.. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY!! e I have had trying. I gave up three times yesterday. Not a happy camper for sure. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ I recently taped a show on ABC which involved the Chef Jamie Oliver from England. He is on a real quest to make food served in schools more healthy. It took me days to get time to see this show but I really wanted to. It is called FOOD REVOLUTION ..look for it!! The amount of work and hoops he had to jump through, both with the administration and the staff and even the federal government and their guidelines would make you dizzy. Boy was I shocked at how little the children of the schools knew. They had NO CONCEPT of what any kind of vegetable was. We are talking kids who are at least 4 and 5 years old. Did any of the children know what they were eating? Did any of them know how to use a knife and fork? All the schools provided was SPOONS. Shocking.. it sure was for me. Some education begins at home and that means that home life for these children does NOT consist of any kind of learning about basic use of table utensils. Kids only care about what tastes good and what is fast and simple to eat. I am sure their eyes were openend and maybe.. if this show begins to catch on the whole nation could jump on the band wagon. When I went to school.. (blah blah blah).. white milk only..you got a whole bottle to yourself. No flavors involved. I did chores at home and boy we KNEW what a simple thing like corn was and potatoes and even tomatoes. We snapped beans and helped make jam and jelly and can peaches. Today it is all the simple canned foods mostly and most of us are living in the hurry up generation. Time for change I truly believe it. We have children now who are at high risk for all kinds of problem illnesses.. diabetes, and more. I bet if you watch just one show you will be sold on the idea of making a change. There are many petitions floating about the internet wanting people to sign up and have some change come to their schools too. This next week he tackles the HIGH SCHOOL kids. The kids who have already learned they can eat junk and get away with it. I predict real chaos. Just my opinion anyway.. on what I thought of the show. Funny it takes a guy from ENGLAND to come to the USA to make changes for the better for U.S kids. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ Cool and damp here today.. making a pot of soup and maybe make some banana bread later. Next week promises to be glorious here with 70 degrees in the forecast.. OH HAPPY DAY.. I am putting my snowblower away.. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY!!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

One response »

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

