BAGGAGE NIGHTMARE

Standard
I t  was the talk of the news yesterday and today.
SPIRIT airlines, albeit small, wants to CHARGE
people for a carry on bag. If you carry on any
luggage to go in the overhead bin it will cost
you 45 dollars!!! WHAT?!!!! Surprised So if you travel with
them and you carry on ANYTHING that doesn’t fit
UNDER the seat in front of you..What about traveling with
children? Diaperbags and all sorts of things like
computers and medical supplies etc… 
SO SORRY.. you PAY.. Smile
All the other airlines are watching this
new trick to see if people will actually PAY or just
not fly or check the bag. If you check the bag it costs
you too!! HOLY COW!Surprised What next..weighing people
at the door and if you weigh over 140 you have to
pay more??????? This whole thing is wayyyy
out of control.. I do hope that people decide to use
another airline and one that DOES NOT charge for
baggage ANYTIME. ( that would be SOUTHWEST )
I hope all the other airlines Benefit from this stupid
move they are making. Some exec in the company
must have said to their board of directors.."Lets
see how far we can push the american traveler."
Sheesh.. I admit I don’t fly much but for people
who do.. Boy they better stand up and be counted
because this whole thing is NUTS!
Just my opinion on that!! Smile
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Rainy day here again. at least they are violent storms
like before. It is spring and we do get the rain..
but the temps are dropping today and the dreaded
"S" word came back in to play. I am hoping it doesn’t
happen here.. all the trees are budding and the flowers
are up. Scary for growers for sure. We wait and see.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

6 responses »

  1. I so agree with you about the baggage thing! We got really nailed by something similar when we went to Ireland and Scotland last year. The local airlines didn’t have the same standard as the international so they were hitting everyone that came from across the pond…that wasn’t fair or right nor is this. I hope people don’t give them business so they change their minds on this ridiculous and obvious gouge. There…just my opinion too LOL! It’s all of forty degrees right now…65 tomorrow then cool yet again…I’m really weary with that. Have a good one my friend.

  2. How right you are. Charging for luggage, blankets and now this. It’s downright disgusting. Steal the money away from the consumer in any way you can get it. Legalized extortion. Where you can go by bus, train or drive yourself. Take an airline only if there is no other way.

  3. I totally agree! When Max and I flew one-way to Seattle, we had to pay for each bag we checked in. What a bummer. They didn’t charge for carry-ons yet, but I’m not surprised. At the rate they’re going, it’ll be cheaper to take no luggage or carry-ons and just buy new clothes and stuff when you reach your destination (of course, you’ll have to PAY to get them home again!). I think the airlines will find people will refuse to fly and will lose more money with fewer passengers and eventually charge themselves right out of business. Glad I don’t have to fly much anymore.

  4. Once the airlines started charging to check a bag, I said to papa, "You watch, they’ll charge us one fee if we check a bag and another if we dont" They will. I’m going to boycott them at all costs. From now on, I’ll only fly if it’s a family emergency and is necessary.My point about Southwest is this… they don’t assign seats. They treat you like cattle, ie if you want to get a particular seat in a particular location, you have to stand in line and wait to board. IF you don’t like that, you can pay more money and get the abbreviated line… thats BS too…

  5. Hopefully it will blow up in their face and they will see the error of their ways. Not only that they said they were considering charging passengers to use the bathrooms I heard this morning. They will put a coin slot on the doors I spose. That’s taking things way too far. The snow missed us 🙂

  6. I notice that people are sheep. They grouse about airline charges and just pay them rather than book somewhere else. I have avoided air travel as much as possible since 911 because they are so invasive with their search and seize=ures and now pushing all the fees too? AND trying to charge to use the bathroom??? I think they backed down on that..I think.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

