WALK… DON’T WALK

Standard
To my shock the neighbor calls me and says."what’s going on
over there to your house?" I said.."Huh.. what do you mean?"
She says.. "the news is in front of your house!" Well you know me
by now.. I grabbed the camera before doing anything else.
.
Sure enough there sat the car and the crew was across
the street interviewing a local resident about the new
code law passed by the council to keep kids or people
from walking in the streets. The mayor said "no exceptions"
so the public safety officers were giving tickets out like
crazy and some of them "not real offenses." I mean if  a
person doesn’t have  a sidewalk to walk on how can you
ticket them.. right? Wrong.. they were giving tickets to anyone
walking in the street. Oh Boy.. what a hornet’s nest got stirred
up. It’s $110. for a jay walking ticket.. and most of them given to
juveniles whose parents have to pay! Did the kids know not to
walk in the street? YES.. the word got out and they did know but
they did it anyway. What do they care.. they are not paying the tickets.
It’s a big mess. The news outlets got wind of it and were interviewing
residents about the problems that have arisen. One local teen was taken
out of town to the county jail and her mother had to "bail" her out.
I think that was a case of her fighting with the officer over the ticket though.
The city council meeting this coming week will be a doozy. I won’t be home
in time but I will tape it to see what happens. I hope changes will be made
for the better.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
As a  side note..
While the news crew was in town they were summonded to the middle school
two blocks from our house. Seems a 50 year old beloved teacher there had a
massive heart attack while preparing for his class and died before he could get
to the hospital in the next town 15 minutes away.We will never know if we HAD
a hospital whether his life could have been saved or not.Sad
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
.
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. Whew, I can imagine that will be a hot town meeting. We’ve had our share of issues here but not in a while. My dad loves to get into the fray on such things, I have to admit I don’t. That’s really sad about that teacher…what a tragic and tramatic thing for all involved…seems hard to say have a great day after all that but I’ll go ahead anyway: have a wonderful day!

  2. Wow… seems like if the person is under 18 (which by the way is who the laws were written for because the delinquents can’t just walk on the side of the road) then they should have to do community service, rather than pay the money. If it’s a money ticket, then everyone knows that the parent is going to pay, or even not pay, and nothing will happen to the kid…Sorry to hear about the teacher… I kinda take for granted the 911 services of Houston, I forget that there are people in the country who have to wait a long time for an Ambulance to show up… a shame, really, in 2010 that it still happens…

  3. Wow, was it a teacher you knew??? What a shame! I never heard of such a law like that either! That’s ridiculous. That’ll be some town meeting. And the story continues…

  4. So sorry about the teacher and response time not there to help save him. Your town meeting will be burstin with people I think. It’s one way to git money in the pot by a ridicules law most will break.

  5. too bad you can’t attend the mtg, would make a good post lol. Personally, if my kids knew the rule but didn’t follow it, a day in jail wouldn’t hurt. lol

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

