WEDNESDAY UPDATE

Standard
May brings out spring here but also brings
birthdays. Dad’s birthday was 3 days before
Mom’s and Mom’s is one day before Mother’s Day.
It sure was a challenge as a kid to come up
with so many gifts on such meager allowances.
Most times it was a home made card or some
little thing we picked up in our local "DIME"
store. Not much was a dime in there but
there were plenty of things, that back in those
days were cheap. Over the years we have bought
mom lots of jewlery and all kinds of cooking things
and sewing supplies. Mom was an avid sewer.
This year has proved a challenge because she
has lost weight and interest in most things and
her diet is so restricted. I spoke to the "doctors
in charge" and she will get WHATEVER she likes
on her birthday this year as long as she doesn’t
overdo it a lot. Birthday cakeParty
(this driveway is really long for mom she stops
at the bottom and rests before walking back)
WE plan to take her out for dinner and get her
some treats she doesn’t usually get.Smile Mom still has
her wedding ring but has lost so much weight it doesn’t
fit.Today I will be checking into getting something
to help her be able to wear it again. Getting some
flowersRed rose and balloons Partywill top off the day. I sure hope
it works. Her Dr. visit went well, she lost weight and
her tests were good. Her physical and occupational
therapist have signed off her case because she can
do so well on her own now. Moving home did wonders
for her attitude and her overall health, for that we are grateful!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Sun, rain, clouds, wind we sure have it all today.
I am hoping to get some yard work done too.
Hope where you are the skies are blue and the
day will be beautiful!!
 
HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. What a wonderful blog entry today Sis. Such great news about your mom tops my list here. That she was walking down the drive way and back and that IS a dstance for her..who would have thought she’s be doing that? She is to be congratulated for her determination and hard work.SO glad she gets to have a happy birthday with something she would love to have to eat. Since you’re taking her out, all the better! Portion control built right in at a restaurant. 🙂 You’re right..three wonderful days in a week. You had your dad’s birthday, your Mom’s and…Mother’s Day as well. A dime had a fur piece to go, didn’t it? I had the same dime for my Dad on Father’s day and hos birthday. No wait..I got a quarter by the time I was 11.xox

  2. Congrats to your mom, and you, for all the hard work. Enjoy your dinner out! It’s starting to clear up here, finally! Best wishes to you all.

  3. She looks good, walking along. I’m sure it’s hard. I’m sure lots of things are hard for her now. I think it’s an excellent idea that she gets what ever she wants on her birthday. Taking all of the goodies away makes for a miserable life, that’s why I don’t do it myself. With that said, I do try to eat in moderation and not go overboard. No sense in going completely gang busters.Might want to look into a sewing machine for those that are disabled. I’ll bet they make them. I’m not saying that your mom is disabled, but when you’ve got stuff wrong with you, it’s exhausting. That’s why I quit crocheting. Seems simple enough, but when it’s all you can do to get out of bed, then the other stuff just seem beyond your ability.

  4. Now I’m going to age myself as I remember DIME stores that had things for a dime. lol She looks to be walking pretty good there. Nice to see her doing so well. I hope you have a wonderful dinner out and Mom gets spoiled good.

  5. I still call some stores the dime store so I guess I am a dinosaur.It does my heart good to see your mom walking. HOORAY!!!!!!

  6. So glad things are going well with your Mom! It’s always a great feeling to finally be HOME again, isn’t it?! Give her a big hug from me on her birthday and I hope she enjoys the fuss being made over her that day. Yes, Dime Stores are a thing of the past—they’ve become "dollar stores" instead. Bummer. Hope the weather is nice for the weekend. (Hate the fact that there are no more notices in my mail of updates here!!!)

  7. How wonderful to see your Mom doing so well and I am thinking a lot of credit goes to you for your persisstance when it comes to her care. It is great to see her walking outside in the fresh air. I don’t think treating her on Mother’s Day will hurt as long as it doesn’t go t her head. She has earned it. Take care both of you and God bless. Happy Mother’s Day………..Rusty ((HUGS))

  8. I am so frustrated that I missed this post. The notifications have been a mess again but I got this today so maybe it’s ciming around again. I think the things you have in mind for your mom sound great. Doing special things like that are just the ticket!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

