STORMY DAY

Standard
Pretty stormy here today. Much lightning and heavy rain.
Some roads are flooded out and more storms coming
later today. When the sun comes out after the storm
THAT is when everything gets a little crazy around here.
So glad we are not having to go out in that today.
Hope the weather near you is good. I heard about SNOW
out west. Will winter ever END?? Thinking
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Yesterday, while sitting in the center waiting for mom,
I got asked THAT question again.. "DO you work anywhere?"
I have been asked that a lot lately. "DO you have a job?"
I am so tired of having to defend myself that I just say
"Yes, I work 24/7..365.. no days off.."Disappointed  To the average
person Caregiving is NOT A JOB I guess. I told this nice
woman yesterday that IF I was not doing what I was
doing, my mother would be in a  tendercare home and NOT in very
good shape. Her condition has improved so much in the
past 60 days she has been home, that even her doctor’s and the
physical testing they have done has proven it.
 I guess
it comes down to personal choice and I made that choice.
After 20 years of helping other people and their parents I now
chose to help my own parent. Plain and simple. I watched
as older patients sat alone and had no help or contact
other than what I alone gave them. I knew how it was out
there in the world. How bad it could get.
When I
made the decision I didn’t know I would have to give up so much
or defend myself so much to everyone I met along the way.
"Wow" she said. "you are so dedicated.. I admire that."
I smiled and thanked her and
I said."There was no question in my mind at all in doing
what needed to be done." My mother took care of my dad
when he had kidney failure and we helped. I knew what it
took to take up that challenge. Times have changed since
dad was sick. Things are better now, machines work better
and so does medicine. Procedures are done now that were
not even dreamed of back in the early 90’s.
Doctor’s asked us.. Do you want the QUALITY or the QUANTITY
of life for your mother?  HOW ABOUT BOTH! Smile
Her life is better with care at home than any place she could
be right now and she is happy with it. Later on if she can’t
stay home and I can’t handle it THEN and only then will
we worry about what is next. Smile
Sorry if this sounds too much like a rant, but it was something
that was weighing on my mind this morning.
Thanks… I needed that!! Red heart
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

7 responses »

  1. I think it’s wonderful that you can care for your mom at home. It really is sad that more people are not able to do that. Staying at home helps them so much, not only physically but emotionally. Your doing a wonderful job. Hugs

  2. My hat’s off to you for your devotion to your Mom!!! Caregiving the elderly is becoming a lost art and you have always done it so well. I’m just lucky that my Mom is able to still take care of herself, mostly (and that my bro is close enough to help). Hope you will visit Toodie’s blog and WATCH the video of the Invisible Woman. You’ll truly identify with it. You go, girl!!! (oooh, Survivor’s on tonight! I missed it completely last week, but read about it the day after.)

  3. Rainy and gloomy here. I applaud you for your desire and determination to care for your mother. I don’t think there are many like you my friend who would take up the task. You are doing a wonderful job!

  4. People who ask such a stupid question aren’t worth your even explaining things to. It has always amazed me and it always will the thoughtless and yes, stupid things people feel totally free to say to someone else. Must have an IQ of 70. They sure don’t use whatever gray matter they were born with. I applaud you. Always have, always will.

  5. I am here to agree with you that care-giving is an around the clock job and the pay is in the thanks we get from our patient. The person who was asking such a stupid question might find herself in a similar situation one day and she will get an answer the hard way.Bless you for taking such good care of your mom!HUGS!!

  6. Sorry to hear about the storms. It’s finally getting really nice here again after our last nasty cold snap. The seventies are as far as I can read ahead in the forecast so I’m happy about that. You’re dead on about caring for someone like you are. I’ve been involved with that for my grandpartents on both sides of the family…outsiders just don’t get it at all. Like you I don’t feel that anything is really an option. I bless you for the care you’re giving to you mom….more power to ya!

  7. I hear you and agree with you. You’re giving your Mom the best of your love. I think it’s wonderful Truly. I know your Mom truly appreciates it!!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

