TWO WORLDS..

Standard
For the past few months here, I have been living in two worlds.
One world is spent at home working and living and one world
has been out of town. Hours of waiting in different places. I have
mentioned before that Mom’s treatments take at least 4 hours,and
we are away from home for those hours. It takes packing the car
with items we need, pillows, dinner, snacks, extras like umbrella’s
books to read, a radio, extra shoes, the list goes on and on. I don’t
drive back home with gas prices as high as they have been, so
I wait. I try each day to make each day of waiting different.
Shake things up
so to speak. Wink Don’t plan it out.. just do it. I love the adventure
of it. One day I might explore a new business I have never been
in, or another I might visit a library or a museum.  I began to notice
something different about this other town. It is as different as day
and night to my hometown. A whole different world. The class of
people there is higher than my own hometown. More jobs and
a very low rate of crime, and if you are of any color or ethnicity
other than white you are in the minority. Downtown is booming
a lot of the time, many stores busy and people there support
them with their hard earned dollars.
In my town, you would never EVER think of leaving your purse
in your car, or even the doors on your car unlocked. You would
NEVER expect to see a bicycle left unlocked to be there when you
returned to it. You would never leave your keys in the car or
leave any shopping bag unattended at any time.You can’t expect to
find your plants or anything on your porch or lawn to be there the
next day.  It is just the way it is.Our town is hard hit with unemployed and
many many homes are sitting empty and some boarded up.
Our schools are down to two. Our downtown has many many
empty stores, a sign of the economy now. It was certainly eye
opening to see the drastic difference in the next town over.
TWO WORLDS,, yep they are..reminds me that the world is
so diverse out there..you just never know what you will find
beyond your own backdoor.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
HOTTER than heck here.. we jumped into Late July. Sun
Ahhhh it kinda feels good.. ask me again about Friday! Wink
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT WEEK!!
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. This was a fascinating blog. I LOVE reading about your thoughts out and around. Amd your thoughts on why and how something happened. I hope for more, Sis.

  2. The world is a big place and there’s a lot to see out there. We have quite literally the wrong side of the tracks here where our church is located and it’s completely different from everything on the north side of town. Then again I think of places I’ve been abroad that make our south side seem like something from heaven. The good news is circumstance doesn’t have to make you evil…life’s what you make of it and the decisions you make…I’ve sure seen that over and over again. I envy your warmth my friend…highs in the forties for us tomorrow…yeah, I think summer has a ways to go before it reaches us.

  3. I swear we live in a mixture of worlds sometimes and just short distances away from each other. How sad it is when you can’t leave a bicycle outdoors at night. Where I come from in Nova Scotia I don’t think we ever locked our doors. It was just unheard of but nowadays where drugs is so rampant one has to if you want to see it like when you left it. Sad really that the simple way of life is gone any more. There still are places like that but few it seems. It is good to hear you are finding ways to pass the time when you take Mom for her treatments. God bless and take care, both of you…………………Rusty ((HUGS))

  4. Yes, it is a fun town to explore! It’s been like winter all over again here—cold and windy. Another cold front is upon up and rain is expected Tuesday. Ugh!

  5. I really enjoyed this post. Yes, different worlds can be only a short drive away. I love the way you have turned your trips to your mom’s Dr appts into adventures. You are a great daughter and I’m certain that your mom appreciates your efforts.Have a wonderful week,Bob

  6. Sounds like loads of fun, tho. I hear you about Gas prices, & I don’t think that they are going down either. At any rage, it gives you a bit of an adventure!!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

