THIS AND THAT…

Standard

Lately I have spent so much time with Mom at the Treatment center I have decided to mention how things are there with the many people that go there. People are surprised at how old Mom is because she doesn’t really LOOK her age.  All I have heard is that she is one of the OLDEST ones going there right now. One guy is nearly her age. He used to be a neighbor of ours. I will call him F. F had problems with emphysema as well as other things. He is skinny and frail looking. Most of the people are. There are a few exceptions though. S has been going there more than 5 years now. She goes early in the mornings and she is very friendly and  seems to be a happy person.

 The longer you go the more you learn. The  person who walks in as a “NEWBIE” knows nothing how about things work there, What are the rules and who is BOSS and what person does their job better than anyone else.  If someone doesn’t show up in their time slot.. EVERYONE notices and EVERYONE wants to know  what happened to them.  One person named J has had such a hard time of it. She has battled cancer and lung problems and is in and out of the hospital all the time. She is very frail and everyone thinks the world of her. D is funny. His humor comes with him whenever he walks in. Some people I haven’t learned their whole name or story yet, but I will in the future. You can’t spend time in a place and NOT get to know the people who are going through the same thing you or your loved ones are. It is just impossible. The picture above is Mom getting her two needles put in by one of the nurses. I hate needles and always have. I cannot imagine having two large ones stuck in my arm every other day. It is amazing what the patients go through.  Thank GOD for the very experienced technicians and Nurses at the center they are the BEST!! 

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

The weather here has been pretty good lately. We have dodged some storms and
should have a long spell of 70’s for at least a week. It sure is nice to do yard
work and not bake in the sun.  Gas went back up here to 2.75 almost
everywhere. Last week they told us it would keep going down. I don’t think
they know what the heck they are talking about. The news stated that oil was
headed to Pensacola Fla. area and I just got so sad. All those beautiful beaches
it is a real shame if they get really contaminated. Sad
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Today we went to Wal#$%T and I noticed that there was less of everything.
 The whole store had been re-configured and there was less vegetables and
fruits and all the major aisles were still empty. They have cut a lot of
prices but they also have cut back in the items they sell. Thinking
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT FRIDAY!!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

7 responses »

  1. I must have read this over on your other blog place. I can’t remember if I commented there or not, Sis.You are T totally right about W***art. Remember I wondered here a month or so ago was it just mine? Apparently not. Try to get something other than grape or strawberry jelly or jam. Good luck.

  2. Sounds like things are going smoothly. Stormy year I think. Gas was 2.47 here last I saw. Our store here looked pretty stocked…so far. I hope your weather behaves and you and your Mom have ah nice weekend.

  3. The longer you go the more you learn…I couldn’t help but key in on this!Love it, really doHugs from Alaska

  4. Your Mom is so brave and is sitting up getting those needles put in. Now if that was me, I would have to lie down or they would be picking me up of the floor as I have a tendency to pass out on the nurses. LOL I faint easily when it comes to needles especially those kind. I put up a brave front but my body always gives me away and it is not from fear, it is just that my body does not like giving up any blood or getting intrevenous needles. When I have to get a flu shot it is nothing as long as I know it is coming, that way I won’t tense up. Well you know why Mom looks so good, it’s because she has the best nurse going! It is great that you are meeting and getting to know some of the other patients, some of them must be something else. So many different cases. Yes, the weather is supposed to be cooler this week coming. It will feel wonderful as it has been so hot. Not much spring really, we kind of went from winter into summer so fast, no time to adjust. Hope you are having a nice day. Take care of you and Mom. God bless………………..Rusty ((HUGS))

  5. You do become acquainted with the help and their routine. I knew everone on the cancer floor of the hospital that we went too. Most of them were very nice, a few were not. I am glad your mom is doing so well.The Walmart here has a very good selection of everything. It in no way compares with the selection that Kroger has and some of Kroger’s prices are cheaper than Walmart.

  6. The news keeps telling us the recession is subsiding, and yet I don’t see any indication of that where we are either. The price of gas is still around $3 and I’ll bet it goes UP before it goes down (IF it goes down at all). I don’t think we will really understand the impact of that oil spill until years from now—and especially with hurricane season just around the corner. This could really get NASTY!

  7. Yes… it would be a shame for those beaches to be destroyed. The animals are the travesty of it all… just breaks my heart.Looks like your mom is going good!!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

