HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY!!

Standard
Last night the whole neighborhood was shaken after
dark, with sirens and fire trucks being called to a house
in our block. Seems a fire had started in the kitchen area.
There is nothing like sirens in the night to scare the dickens
out of you. The first thing I thought of was fireworks and how
the kids like to set off those large ones illegally. They fly through
the air and can start roof fires if they land in a dry area. Thinking smile
I guess it was put out by a garden hose and the firemen
and we were glad about that. Not sure what the damages are
but at least it was quickly extinguished.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Mom came home yesterday from the hospital, they cancelled
the test she went in for. Surgeon said it was NOT necessary
at this time. Sure was confusing for us. Mom was happy though
and glad to get home. Hope she never has to go back!
The day has been warm here and will be tomorrow too.
We could get into the 90’s..it really feels like summer!
Today I made strawberry pie. A really simple recipe that
I have I used every summer. Takes only minutes and
doesn’t heat up your kitchen. Sets up well and keeps good
in the fridge.  Try it you will love it!!
 
 

        QUICK STRAWBERRY PIE

 

1 (9 inch) graham cracker pie shell
1 C. sugar
4 tbsp. cornstarch
1 C. cold water
Pinch of salt
One small box of DRY strawberry jello
Strawberries (at least a quart)

Combine sugar, cornstarch, and salt. Stir into cold water.
Cook mixture until thick and clear, stirring constantly. Remove from
the stove.  While mixture is still hot 
stir in  box of DRY Jello. Mix well.
Cool mixture some. Fill baked shell with well drained whole berries.
Pour mixture over berries and place in refrigerator. Will set up
pretty fast.
(Can use a real  baked pie crust if you prefer.)
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT FOURTH OF JULY!!
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. I am so glad your mom is home!!! The strawberry pie looks luscious. I have copied the recipe down because my son is crazy about strawberries.Thank you. HUGS!!

  2. That mom is home and happy is the best news. I don’t think I’ve ever had strawberry pie but it sure lookds good. Have a great weekend.

  3. Simple is good, I witnessed a house burning down right from my house a few years back, frightening.Hope your Mom never has to go backHugs from Alaska, Happy 4th to you my friend

  4. @Terry This recipe is one a lady used who worked in BIG BOY restaurant years back. She used it because it would hold up and look so good in the display under glass. It has just the right combo of sweet topping and the tart of the fresh berries.It literally takes less than 10 minutes to make a pie with the graham crust.. Enjoy!

  5. Glad your Mom is back home. The strawberry pie looks soo good, haven’t had one in a great while. Happy Fourth to you and yours.

  6. I think adult supervision is what’s needed with fireworks…I did them my whole life and do them with my kids now: never a fire in nearly forty years. The biggest fires around here came when a gas leak finally ignited in a huge explosion..yikes! That pie looks great! Have a great 4th!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

