HAZY DAYS OF SUMMER….

Standard
Those words are so true.. I mean it is hot and hazy here and
it is summertime. The heat makes us all want to just veg out
someplace in front of the AC with a cool drink.Smile
Sittin here in my favorite spot indoors while I wait for
mom to get done with her treatment..the local library.
It’s well lit, cool and quiet and even though the chairs are kinda
hard.. it’s a great spot to spend a few hours of my time with the Wifi!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ 
 
I noticed that the farmers are rolling up their hay
while it is dry and the cutting is good. We saw
more fields of corn than usual this year and because of
all that rain we had.. the corn is over 7 feet tall in some places.
I kid you not. Seeing those reporters standing in the fields,
talking about the great crop this year made me think of last year
when things were bone dry. The local weather man has come up
with his prediction for our area and he states that We Here will
get more cold and snow than last year. OH JOY.. it makes my back
ache to think of it. Guess I will enjoy every single day of this hot summer
that I can, and not complain anymore.  Sun
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Got one half of my wheelchair ramp coated with water repellant
and had to quit as the fumes were getting to me. I say one half
is better than none. Wink Oh the rest will get done when I finally get
a cooler, drier day I am thinking. It has to be DRY to put the stuff on,
so after today’s storms it will be awhile before I can finish it. Just glad
I have the energy to do it with all that intense heat.
Mom is doing well, she had an angiogram on her arm yesterday and
everything looked fine to the surgeon.  Her last blood workup came
back great. The dietician said she had some of the best numbers in
the place. Was happy to hear that!! Hope she continues on
that path.Summer months do tend to zap the appetite though.Thinking smile 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 
HELL house is looking good. StarThe neighbors are mowing that lawn
sometimes more than I do mine. Who would have ever thought it?
I am so glad they are there and keeping the place looking nice so far.
The kids are not noisy and they actually SLEEP at night like the rest of
us here on the block. OH HAPPY DAY.. we are loving it!!Smile
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sure do miss having my own tomato plants. I never thought I would,
but I do.  The neighbors had one plant in a big pot and now I wish
I had done the same thing. The taste is just not as good when bought
in the stores that is for sure. Prices here are running 99 cents a lb.
That does seem higher than last years too. Red rose Gas prices seem to
go up in the middle of the week now and back down by the start of
the next week. We have $2.85 here in some cities and $2.79 in others.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The oil clean up in the nearby town is going well. The turn out for
the town meeting had over 500 people. The company (learning from
BP’s mistake, I am sure) is taking full responsibility and are putting
up all families, that want to, that are directly affected in a hotel for the duration.
They have offered to pay FULL market value for any home that the owner
wants to SELLbecause of the spill and..that includes over 20 homes. The smell inside
town has now dwindled due to their work and they are saying that the
20 mile stretch of river no longer has large pools of black oil, only a sheen
on the surface of the water. The entire clean-up will probably take
3 to 6 months. I am sure they want to get done before the winter months
arrive.Smile 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Well We will have a new governor come the next election in November and
it most definitely will be a MAN. We have had a woman governor for 8 years. 
She did a great job and really was a champion for this old state which is in
such trouble these days. She will be missed. The new candidates will be
A self-named NERD.. and a former mayor of our capital city. NERDS are pretty
smart so maybe I am leaning in his direction. The debates will be something
to watch for. 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WELL enough nattering about things.. 
 
HOPE YOUR DAY WILL BE A COOL ONE AND A GREAT ONE!!  
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

2 responses »

  1. Wow, it looks like our weather patterns have reversed over last year’s. After several years of heat and drought last year was one of the wettest and snowiest on record here. That was last year. Now we’re back to hot and humid and the local news is once again running stories about farmers powder dry fields with knee high corn that is withered and burnt. Good news about your mom and the river cleanup.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

