“GOING TO WORK”

Standard

When I came downstairs this morning mom was up already.
It was 5:45 A.M. I asked her why she was up so early, that it
wasn’t even daylight yet, and she said “I have to figure out
what I am going to wear today.” She had  hours to decide but
it was  on her mind. She then added, “I always get up early on
days I am going to work.” Thinking smile Mom never had a job outside of
her home like other women she knew. If she wanted to make
money she would take on sewing or babysitting. I started to
fill the coffee pot and make her coffee when she saw the look
on my puzzled face. “WHAT?” she asked.  I didn’t hardly know what
to say. She got up every weekday morning with my father
at 5 AM, to get his breakfast and get him off to work. Getting up
early was a part of her life and was for over 40 years.
While fixing her breakfast I finally asked her, “SO you are going to
work now huh?” She answered in a small voice, YES… going to the
center is like going to work for me. I sit there for hours and there
are other people there to see and talk to and by the end of my
treatment I am ready to go home. I am tired and need
to get out of there.” Now that I thought about it, what mom said was
so true. It did feel like going to work. Packing up the snacks and
making sure you had everything because you can’t just leave
and go home. Yes.. that  is just what it is like. Leave it to mom
to figure out a way to make dialysis easier for her to deal with.
Life goes on here day after day..it is always busy and changes on
a moments notice. 
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Gas went down here for the second time in a week to 2.48! Almost a
20 cent drop in less than one weeks! Look for it to go back up around
Labor Day.Sad smile We have glorious weather here this week..nice and cool
mornings and just warm days.Sun Predictions say it will be back close
to 90 next week so I am enjoying it as much as possible. 
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

3 responses »

  1. Wow… way to go Mom. I can see how you’d be concerned for a moment. Papa does that to me sometimes, then when I finally figure it out it’s like “Ah-Ha!”

    Have a super weekend!

  2. Going to work, huh? Well, it does make sense. Glad she is getting along so well these days. Just be glad you don’t live in FL now—I see hurricanes are a-coming! Bet Anita doesn’t head down there earlier…

    • My first thought was OMG, Mom has lost it…but the more I read, it really makes sense. Too bad she doesn’t get a paycheck too. Fill up while the gas is cheap. It’s been around $2.77 all summer up here.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

