WEEKEND VIEWS..

Standard

GOOD GRIEF.. gas prices are all over the place lately. Very confusing for sure. One town has it 15 whole cents cheaper than the other. Needless to say. I took my cans and filled them up while it was $2.43 cents. Usually when I do that it goes down but within hours it went back up 10 cents.  Not a real gas war thing but makes one wonder what is going on. Labor day is approaching and I begin to get antsy about this time. Friday traffic was backed up for at least 1/2 mile and I had to make a long detour and after I did that another road closed and I had to find another alternate route. I was just happy to get home in one piece. Crazy things happen over labor day and I still can’t figure out why. I just try to be more aware and careful over that holiday.

Here in town our local government has decided to dig up the old pond where we ice skated when we were kids. It was a deep pond and a lovely sight in our park there. We used to skate there every winter. Now that the climate has changed it rarely would EVER froze hard enough to skate on. Closed off due to being  dangerous in the winter it just sat there. So the city government decided to dig the pond up and remove the silt and make a swimming area out of it. The old building we loved will be used as a shelter area for swimmers. Not sure how long the whole thing will take, but they race to get most of it done before the winter sets in. We, who used to use the pond, can’t wrap our minds around anyone swimming in it. It will be made to have filtered water that is safe to swim in. Memories of the past will soon fade away to the sounds of children playing and swimming in the same pond we used. Eventually the whole idea of skating there will fade away and it will be one for the history books of our town. Here is a shot I took the other day of the progress of digging  up the old pond.

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

7 responses »

  1. I hear you. It’s hard to see something that you’ve grown up with just torn apart and changed. Sometimes “Progress” is nothing short of vandalism, as far as I’m concerned.

    Gas seems to hover at 2.44 here and has been for over a month… odd what’s going on up there, I’ve no clue why it would be this way…

    Have a great rest of the weekend!!

    • J.. I am hoping the building renovations will be great and kids will flock to that place and use it a lot. The place was always full of kids in the winter.. would be nice to see it being used again. It has sit that way for probably 20 years! Our Gas price is nuts.. was 2.82 just last week! Sheesh…

  2. Carol, I am convinced the gas stations have some sort of machine that tells them when I need to fill up. It raises the price when I get within 2 blocks and lowers it as soon as I pull away from the pump. My dentist has a similar device which tells the cashier how much money I have in my wallet when it comes time to settle up on the co-pay. Even though he denies it, our mechanic recently purchased the upgraded version which can also detect checking account and credit card balances as you walk in the door to retrieve your car.

    • AMEN I hear ya on that.. many times I bought a whole tank of gas and not even an hour goes by and they drop the dang price by 10 cents a gallon.. sure does tick me off. :S

  3. Ah yes, the memories of skating on that pond! It’s a shame it doesn’t freeze enough—I’m convinced it’s all about global warming. Hope they can get it done in time for next summer. Wish we’d taken more pics when we were skating there!

    • We didn’t even think about cameras back then. I guess maybe the parents might have for some kids. All we have is our fading memories of how it was in the “old days” I am hoping they don’t change the warming shelter all THAT much.. it should be preserved not changed drastically! Will keep you up to date on it for sure. : )

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

