REAL CHICKEN POT PIE

Standard
The last few days here it has been rainy and cold
and so I have been eating some baked things that I have
put off doing this hot summer. I came across a pot pie recipe
that is from scratch that was so easy and tasty too.
If you like the thin crust kind of pot pie this is for you!
It says to let cool 10 minutes, but I think we dug into it
way before the 10 minutes were up. I will be saving this
one for the winter months ahead.
 
Chicken Pot Pie
 
Ingredients:
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken
breast halves – cubed
1 cup sliced carrots
1 cup frozen green peas
1/2 cup sliced celery
1/3 cup butter
1/3 cup chopped onion
1/3 cup all-purpose flour 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon celery seed
1 3/4 cups chicken broth
2/3 cup milk
 
2 (9 inch) unbaked pie crusts
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C.)
2. In a saucepan, combine chicken, carrots, peas, and celery. Add water to cover and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and set aside.
3. In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and set aside.
4. Place the chicken mixture in bottom pie crust. Pour hot liquid mixture over. Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut away excess dough. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape.
5. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2010 Allrecipes.com  
################################################################################
 
Here in town another plant is closing. It doesn’t leave many left. This
one will move all it’s work to Florida. 100 people will lose their jobs
by the end of the year. No mention as to whether employees had the
option to move also. Guess maybe we will find out later on. So many
have left town already, there are almost more homes sitting empty
than occupied. Sad smile 
###########################################################
I am looking forward to this next week, as some of the new season of
television shows start. I am disappointed that Survivor has been changed
to Wednesday nights instead of Thursday. Don’t exactly know what
they were thinking? The last(?) season of OPRAH starts on Monday,
as she is moving to her own network. So many celebs are doing that
now. Martha Stewart is moving to HALLMARK channel. Can’t say
I will miss her though.. her show was never the same when she moved
it to a live show with an audience. I liked the old format so much better.
Have seen some previews of the new shows with Tom Selleck and
the new NCIS season should be good. I will sure miss 24 and Lost.
Those two kept me very entertained. Just have to wait and see what
else is on the schedule that might be good.
###############################################################
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT WEEK!! 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

4 responses »

  1. Nothing like chicken pot pie during those cold winter evenings. Yours sounds GREAT!! I hope that all of those companies leaving your area doesn’t affect your local economy too much. It seems as if many firms are doing this lately.Yes, the new TV schedule really IS new, isn’t it? I hope some of the new programs are as entertaining as the ones that are leaving.You have a Great week too Carol.

  2. I love chicken pot pie and this recipe looks delicious, I am anxiously waiting for NCIS to start as we were left with a cliffhanger. Also LOVE the Big Bang Theory so I am looking forward to that too.

  3. Yum, a great recipe. I never watched Oprah, so I guess I won’t miss her. Didn’t watch Martha either. Can hardly wait for NCIS though. Harley Davidson has threatened to leave WI if they don’t vote for a 7 years salary freeze. They can all use all the excuses in the book for their rationalization but they will always have to add corporate greed to their claims.

  4. We live in one of three states now that has no crushing deficite…seems unreal but I’m very thankful for it. Chicken pot pie sounds so very good!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

