MOM’S HOMEMADE SOUP

Standard

We would go to school on a cold winter day and not know that mom had already planned our dinner the day before. I got  wise to what she was up to when I was about 12 as she would be in the basement gathering quart jars of homemade canned vegetables. There was nothing like that smell upon coming home. It permeated the whole house and lingered into the night. She used a very large stew pot and made enough for the five of us for at least 2 days. I can make ,and love to make it, but it just doesn’t measure up to the taste of hers. Maybe the missing ingredient was hand chopped onion, or the braised beef  she included sometimes. Maybe it was the long hours she spent over snapping the beans and cutting up tomatoes and  washing mason jars for canning. Many times us kids would sit over a bushel basket of  green beans or peaches and help out.   Maybe it was the ultimate ingredient… LOVE. Love for her family. Providing it with her loving hands and heart.

 I asked mom recently exactly what ingredients go in vegetable soup and she said..”vegetables,.. silly.” See Mom doesn’t remember a whole lot about recipes or how to cook a lot of things. She does remember making it in the big pot though. A smile came over her face and I asked her why she was grinning. She looked at me and said..”nothing better on a cold day than soup, you kids loved it. ” Yes she sure knows us pretty well. As far as I am concerned winter months mean soup and I am more than happy to make it many times over. I added my own touch when I make it.  I serve it with nice warm pieces of homemade cornbread. I guess I just wanted to try to make a memory of my own with the soup, however nothing will compare to Mom’s version.

The photo above is the kind of pot mom used. It was used as a cold pack canner for boiling her green bean jars in when canning them. She made soup and filled it up about half way up. We don’t have the old pot anymore, I have no idea what happened to it. Mom stopped canning over 30 years ago. I admire people who do it though. It takes a lot of time and work.

 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. My mom has a pot exactly like that one! We used to call it her vegetable soup caldron. Back then several of us kids were picky and didn’t care much for some of Moms favorite recipes. Now that we’re older we can’t get enough!

  2. Great blog Carol! My Grandma did lots of the cooking when we were growing up. She had a big ol’ pot and made great chicken noodle soup with homemade noodles. Sometimes it was beef veg soup with killer dumplings. I’ve been able to make good broth, but my dumplings are sinkers and the noodles are so so. Sure wish I knew just how much of this or that she used. But there’s nothing like coming home to a big pot of soup.

  3. I love this post. Memories of our parents and the things they did for us are some of the best of memories. Soup is such tasty and calming meal. That’s just the kind of pot we use here for the guys hunting chili. They make tons for all the guys that go.

  4. We have an old canning pot around and use it occassionally, but mostly I use the slow cooker during those winter days instead—it seems safer when leaving the house. Love the smell of soups and stews cooking though and the warm bread is the best!!!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

