WEEK WRAPUP

Standard

So.. here it is Friday and another week has passed. This week it got colder, the trees started dropping their leaves even faster and all the fields are being harvested before the snow comes. Last night snow was reported in the upper peninsula of Michigan on the ground. We got a hard frost overnight. People  put up their decorations for Halloween. We never decorated much outside for Halloween. The times I did someone took  our pumpkin display and threw them in the street smashing them. I learned fast it just wasn’t worth it. Most of my decorations were all indoors from then on. As time goes on the kids are not around, so decorating for holidays is just not as much fun as it was in the past.  Halloween is about the   C A N D Y in my mind.. I mean I associate it with the sweets. Old favorites like popcorn balls and big candy bars always come to mind. We loved to trick or treat to the houses that served the biggest best candy treats. Our grade school had cake walks in the gym and every room had a different game where you could win a prize or some candy. What is better than that? It seems now days some of that is coming back. There are more parents taking their kids to parties at schools and churches now than ever. Trick or treating in our town has dwindled out a lot. Trunk or Treating is BIG.. a church parking lot with treats in all the car trunks and the kids go from one to another. They all  go inside for punch and cake or just to sit and visit with each other and play games. The whole thing is supervised and very very safe. Times have sure changed and so have the traditions that go with them.
################################################

Yesterday as I was busy baking, I got one of those automated phone calls. I hate those, but this one was welcomed. Seems when I switched over to KMART and their pharmacy, they put me on auto-refill list. The message tells you when you need to refill and how many you have left and when you can pick it up when it gets refilled. I have so many things to do that in a busy day, I sure appreciate their service so that is ONE LESS thing I have to worry over. I like it. Dealing with our pharmacy in town, you wait hours sometimes to get a refill and have it okay’d by the doctor etc. The city leaders wonder why we move our business elsewhere. The term SERVICE comes to mind.

###############################################

  Well not much more from here..


glitter-graphics.com

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

4 responses »

  1. Halloween lost it’s allure for me when I got my draft notice and joined the USAF instead of reporting to US Army induction. I had no intention of going to Vietnam as a grunt. Instead I was ordered to report to Basic Training at Lackland AFB, Texas on Halloween 1972. Shortly after arriving I had my head shaved and was dressed in a pickle suit. TRICK OR TREAT.

    Fast forward 35 years and I was in the ER after tripping over Sam’s tie out lead and fracturing all of my lumbar vertebrae. Now, on Halloween, I just crawl under the bed and whimper, all the while praying feverishly that a meteorite doesn’t come through the roof and land on my head.

  2. Yup, it’s Halloween time again and our annual Pumpkin Carving Party is just around the corner…if we don’t get rained out. Hope that doesn’t happen. We just don’t have enough room here to have it INSIDE. We do have large porches, so I guess we could figure out something to do…it’s not until next Saturday, so we’ll keep our fingers crossed that it will not rain. I personally love the Halloween season with all the autumn colors and smells and tastes. What I HATE is going into the big stores and already seeing Christmas stuff being for sale. Now, that’s just not right…

  3. I use hotmail’s reminder thing for stuff like that. Every month it reminds me to give Molly her heartworm treat, reminds me of birthdays and any other thing I need a reminder for. I’ve come to depend on that service.

    We don’t get trick or treaters up here and hardly any in Madison. Mainly because there aren’t any little kids in either place.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

