ONE DAY AT A TIME…

Standard

MOM said Change would be good.. I agreed.. getting home in the daylight instead of pitch black dark would be wonderful. That was before we found out the bad news. Seems another surgery is necessary for Mom and she isn’t happy with it. What is the alternative? You have no choice..it must be done or give up and decide to go into hospice and prepare for the end. PERIOD.. What an extremely hard decision to make, I cannot think of a harder one. I truly don’t know what I would do in that situation either. Mom has been so well lately that many have told me she has been very lucky to stay so healthy and strong.  

MOM  is not one to give up.. she is a fighter and wants to live to her nineties like her mother and her mother before her. She is strong-willed and nothing can stop her shy of illness she cannot control. Most are amazed that she has endured the year that she has. Sis and I are totally behind whatever decision she makes, when she makes it. She has  some time yet to decide. Thankfully, she does not remember a whole lot of what she went through the last time. Drugs mostly kept her in a fog and the pain at bay. IF not for the scar she would not know she had anything done. God is good. So here we sit, wondering what is to come. 

THE reason I am blogging about it all is because I am becoming really busy and have not been around as much as I used to. I am not sending e mails,chatting, or visiting everyone like I used to. So many things going on all at once it’s hard to keep up. Just know I will be around when I can and will try to let you all know what is up and what happens. It looks like our Thanksgiving this year will be just as hectic as last year. Yes, Mom was in tendercare and was pretty sick last year at this same time. One whole year has passed. My how time flies. Hoping to have dinner at home with all Mom’s favorites this year, we will see.

It is cold here in the mornings now, we have a threat of snow flurries lingering in the next few days. I dread the winter time as it is so hard to get around in. One day at a time is what we live in now…one day at a time.

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!! 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

15 responses »

  1. Carol, I know how hard this must be for you. You will get through this just like you have before. Oh and FYI, it’s almost impossible to read this. The color of the font blends right into the background. Just saying, incase others have a hard time reading this.

  2. What a hard decision your mother has to make and how brave you girls are, standing with her and supporting whatever decision she makes. For Thanksgiving, do forget calorie count, etc. and fix all of her favorites. You will be glad that you did.
    Sending you both a hug!

  3. Carol, I so understand, don’t worry we’re here for you. I pray all goes well with your Mom and her being a fighter will make the right decision. Keep up good your Spirits and Strength you Will need. Mom sounds like a Determined Women, God Bless her. Yep, One Day at a Time. That’s how I live. Be thinking about you and your Mom, just let us know, every once in awhile how You and Mom are doing. XOXO

  4. Please do not concern yourself about chatting, emails and such. Just do what you always do, which is taking care of your sweet mother and being there for her. I’m certain that whatever decision your mom makes, you and your sister will do everything possible to keep her spirits up and continue to make her happy. Your mom is a very lucky woman to have two loving daughters who care so much for her.

    You did not explain the specifics of the surgery and I did not expect you to. Any surgical procedure is personal… between family and God. But regardless, I for one hope that your mom opts for the surgery. I wouls love nothing more than to look back, when she is in her nineties, and smile knowingly.

    You are the BEST daughter ever!!!

    Bob

    PS: Look for a message from me in facebook.

  5. Time marches on steadily but the circumstances in that march tend to be difficult at times to say the least. I know that I join everyone else when I say that it’s understandable that you’ve cut back. I’d say you have more than enough on your plate. I just returned from Africa with my family and now that I’m able to post again it is a strange feeling after even a month’s absence. Time marches on my friend by I know that you’ll have people here waiting for you when you are ready to start posting again.

  6. Hi Sis, first off I agree whole heartily with Bob. You are the best daughter ever. That is a hard decision mom has to make but you’re right, it’s her’s to make and even though it might be hard on you with her decision I know you’ll do what she wants. Hopefully all will turn out well.
    Blessings and Hugs,
    Sherry

  7. It seems alot of us are busier than usual lately. I for one am busy trying to figure out this new format. I’ve always prided myself on being pretty computer literate, but this is going to take some time and some playing with.

    I miss my blogging. So much has changed since I’ve started. Concentrated effort…yep that’s the key.

    That being said, I have to tell you how much I’ve enjoyed our friendship over the years. My admiration for your great love and care of your mom and your dedication to your blogging and communication with friends (I’m honored to be one of them) has grown steadily through the years. You are a wonderful daughter and a great friend. Never apologize for not doing enough (or what you think is not enough). We aren’t going anywhere and will always be here for you.

    Have a great night my friend. I need my rest. I have to blog tomorrow. LOL!
    Deb

  8. Just wrote a long comment and it totally disappeared! RATS! I’ve recently felt something was just not right in the air. I thought it was just us, but probably it was you too. Know you’ll all make the right decision. Be strong and hang in there. You know I’m here if you need me.

  9. So sorry to hear that you and yours are going through such a difficult time. Remember that when life knocks you down, you have 2 choices. To use the little strength you have left to fight your way back up, not knowing when or why you could be knocked back down again, or just stay down. I guess that is why we call it courage, the courage to stand back up when life gives you hundreds of reasons to stay down.
    Know what I do almost every single day? I say a little prayer. I’ll be sending you all some good vibes as well.

  10. Greetings Carol … Just wanted to pay you a short visit to wish you a great Wednesday, even a better Thursday and a fantastic Friday!!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

