UPDATE/ VETERAN’S DAY

Standard

Well decisions have been made,  and no matter what, we will keep on plugging  along. Mom will have another surgery again next month, not sure what day yet because other things have to fall into place first. It is always something, I am just amazed at her strength.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

This Veteran’s Day I am reminded of my uncles who served in WWII and of many I know in blogland who served this country .IF not for their sacrifices where would our country be now? I honor them today and everyday for their service.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Weather here is glorious for November. I am doing all I can to get things done before the cold sets in. I hear about the white stuff  in other parts of the country..so I know to get prepared.  Now to local news..

OVERHEARD in the Laundromat..

DID YOU KNOW that the “widow woman” has not one but THREE  men friends?? THREE.. it’s scandalous! DID you know that one was seen leaving her house at 9 AM..  How horrible!!  I had to chuckle at these two women who were doing laundry and talked at length about the woman they knew as a quite “loose” woman who had so many men friends. Maybe they were jealous of her..maybe not.. who knows, but it sure got tongues wagging and served me some fun. The local college kid who sat near the window turned his face as he laughed out loud. Oh the things you hear in a laundromat.  DID you know that one of the pharmacy’s in town was taken over by another company and they had the “nerve” to come in and fire every employee and replace them all with new ones? HOW sad.. I must say the women are right on this one..the service is terrible now and makes me want to move to another place. Our town has so many out of work and to fire them and hire others is just really wrong. The local election is over and the mayor got re-elected for another term. The man that was running against him was over 70 and had been the mayor previously for over 1o years. WHY oh WHY he wanted to run again is beyond comprehension..voters ousted him for a reason. The women’s opinion.. “He’s an old fart that doesn’t know how to bring business into our town.”  I had to smile and agree with that one.  Margaret,(friend  of theirs)   is having trouble again..seems he moved back home and is now free-loading on his mother who is on low income and medicare. Sits around all day! Have to agree with this one..hope he gets his act together and finds work or some sort of monetary help for them both. I left after my two loads and the women were still there chatting about that “loose woman” and her tendency to wear clothing that revealed way too much of her.

 Saturday night a home here in town burned to the ground. The family of 5 last everything and had NO INSURANCE. Now that itself is amazing. They had just purchased the home that had been remodeled and were looking for a company to insure them. The roof needed replacing or at the very least repair. All in time.. the new owner said..but because the roof was in such a state.. he was having trouble finding someone to write-up a policy. When fire broke out the wife left the home with their three dogs and it collapsed completely in itself and was a total loss. People in this small town rallied bigtime. The family across the street started finding all sorts of clothing and household goods on their lawn and porch. Every day something else shows up. Trouble is .. this family has no home to put them in. Well.. local realtors are also helping out by trying to get them into a home that they might be able to rent cheap. Donations are being sought also by the local chapter of the Red Cross and several churches. Nice to know that people come forward in these hard economic times to help a fellow citizen out in their time of need. Says something about living in a small town that is for sure. 

WELL MUST GET GOING>>
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT VETERAN’S DAY!!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. I think that I’m as shocked as anything to know that most of the veterans I know are very near and dear to me. One was a combat medic that served in Iraq and is a friend I’ve known since highschool. Another is one that I have known since he was a little boy and he served two tours in Iraq and saw combat….it’s really humbling to know vets that are younger than me…wow! Anyway, blessings to you and your mom, I pray all goes well with the surgery.

  2. One of the things that struck me after moving to this small town was how the community rallies to help those in need. Even though most folks here are barely scraping by in the best of times and this economy is making it really tough everyone finds some way to help out when one of ours is in need.

    Odd you mentioned Margaret, a free loading son and the laundromat all in one sentence. That’s my mom’s name, my youngest brother (the village drunk) is freeloading off her and, at age 87, she’s at the laundromat, rain or shine, every Tuesday morning at 5:30.

  3. Loved the laundromat chat. Sounds like it could have come straight from my little town. LOL Wonderful how folks rally around those in need. Restores my faith in mankind.
    HUGS!! to you and mom. I know her decision was a hard one for her to make.

  4. Don’t ya just love small town talk. Funny thing is, you usually have an idea of who’s being talked about. And it’s a reminder to not do things to get the tongues wagging about yourself!

    Hope all goes well for Mom and that whatever needs to fall, will fall into it’s correct place.

  5. Loved listening in on the town gossip with you lol. I’m thinking they were jealous ;).

    A home exploded and was completely destroyed in a town near here. Sadly 2 people died. The news reports that a new furnace was just installed the day before and that is probably what caused the explosion. They company came forward and said they did indeed install it and feels terrible if the cause was from them doing something wrong.

  6. HA! That is always fun, eavesdropping on such conversations! Some people never change—so why are YOU going to a laudramat anyway? Maybe I don’t want to know…hope things are going OK for you and your Mom. Glad she elected to have this surgery. You guys will be in my thoughts constantly. Enjoy the fall weather—winter is a-comin’!

  7. Hey Hey it’s Friday! Oh, how I love Fridays. Give me a chance to catch up on the usual stuff that I have been putting off during the week… and even enjoy some ‘do sweet nothing’ time too.
    Hope you will have a most excellent next few days!

  8. Hi Sissy. I made the move onto WP. I haven’t spiffed it up. My main blog is Blogger but I took the plunge. No more transferring blogs because WP allows third parties in to take them. Gerry let me know yesterday.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

