IS IT DEAD.. YET????

Standard

I’VE heard a lot of talk about blogging being on its way out and “Dead” for a lot of people. Not sure if it is because people like a shortened way of communicating like Facebook and Twitter  or not. I know I just won’t stop.. I had to be run out of Spaces and I am still blogging. It keeps on going.  For me..it’s an outlet of sorts. Getting things out of the mind and sharing with others.  I sat the other night and thought.. What the heck DID I do way back when? Well, I read and I journaled longhand for years. I sure talked on the phone a whole LOT! Every time I just had to say something little, I had to make a note for the next call I was going to make. WE wonder why we love the cell phone and the internet so much. I don’t check my mail or check my Facebook every hour or even every few hours like some do, maybe twice a day.. that seems enough for me. I DO know I have cut way back in my e mails though and my mail boxes are not nearly as full as they used to be since I started back at Facebook.  These are just my thoughts on the subject. I will continue until my fingers can’t type or I can’t see or I am incapable of running a computer. WORDPRESS states…

There are 13.9 million blogs hosted on WordPress.com as of September 2010.. I found this stat page very interesting.. Check it out.. and tell me if blogging is DEAD? 

 HOW on earth can blogging be dead?  Too many people are still reading and posting. Like all things the latest craze can come and go I guess for many. Life can get busy and crazy and you lose track and time and interest in things. I still think Blogging will be around for a while and I know I, for one, will continue to do it.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. I don’t think anyone ever thought it was dead but rather many have gathered statistics that say it’s declining…pretty big difference there. I don’t think any of those that gather this (or me that has been reading about it for some time now) have suggested that blogging is bad or should be stopped however it does suggest that there’s a trend going towards the shorter format of Face Book and Twitter…13 million new blogs pales when compared with the clientel of both Face Book and Twitter. I have never been satisfied with “micro blogging” however I can’t deny it’s appeal to many people. If you follow my blog you realize I put a lot of effort into it and love that format. Make no mistake that I suggest that I will quit or other should…this is simply not the case. I salute those that have continued to share their heart…how could I not? I am one of them.

  2. When I spend 2 or 3 hours each evening writing and posting 3 blogs, then catching up on the 200-300 new posts on blogs I’m following I don’t see any death knell for blogging and those stats just reinforce my impression. I think the idea that blogging is dead is coming from those same nice folks from Microsoft who dumped WLS Wave 4 on us, ten decided to stop hosting blog pages.

    WLS is all about generating “hit count” numbers to show to potential advertisers. Limiting the length of comments and shifting their focus towards instant messaging just generates more hit counts because users aren’t taking the time to read blog posts anymore.

  3. I sure have to agree with you. As I search for various things, I’m amazed at the number of people that take the time to share so many things, in such unbelievable detail. Pictures, recipes, patterns, directions and just about anything else you can imagine. Whoever wrote that, doesn’t know diddly squat, IMO. LOL

  4. I am here. Not the best writer… nor the funniest… etc. but here I am. I am not going anywhere either. I like to try and keep up with everyone else and that’s why I refuse to stay away. I may not post as often as I want and I may not visit people’s pages as often as I want… but I try!!! Plus… I don’t know how to scrapbook. 🙂

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

