OVERHEARD…

Standard

Shopping in the stores, and standing in line waiting, you are  sure to overhear a whole lot of conversations that you just cannot avoid. People use their cell phones and talk to one another like they were all alone. The lady in front of me had a small child in the seat in her cart. I was drawn to her immediately because she reminded me of my niece when she was small.  She could not sit still for a second and very talkative. Her pretty pink coat and hat made her blue eyes just pop and shine when she looked at you. I smiled as I waited for the belt to clear so I could load my items.

All of the sudden she stopped swinging her feet and got the most terrible look on her face. I started to say something to her mother but never got the chance. The little girl let out a wail that you could hear for several aisles over. Her mother turned quickly to see what was wrong. She tried to calm the little girl down the best she could while trying to finish checking out. The cashier looked annoyed, and I just stood there trying to figure out what the heck triggered her sudden  outburst. When the mother finished paying she pulled the cart further to the front of the aisle. All the while the child was just crying her eyes out. I started loading my items and pushing them toward the cashier. Finally the mother asked her what she was crying about. The little girl looked up at her mother just shaking as she sobbed. “Mommy…Santa got laid off and there won’t be any Christmas this year!” Her mother was shocked at the statement. So was I, and the cashier who heard her. “Where did you hear that?” she asked her. The little girl said..” THAT lady said Santa won’t be coming this year to her house.” pointing to the cashier. The startled cashier, stopped checking out my groceries and looked at the little girl. She moved closer to her and said “Honey I never said that at all, I said “If my husband gets laid off MAYBE santa won’t come this year.” Funny how children that young can hear only parts of a conversation and believe it with their whole heart. 

The little girl stopped crying and seemed happy with that answer. They walked away and the cashier came back to doing her job checking out my groceries.  I told her she was sure lucky that the little girl accepted her explanation. She gave me my receipt and said, “I guess I better watch what I say this time of year.”  I smiled and thought she was sure right about that. In this day of bad news happening a lot, kids take things to heart.  We should try to keep their minds clear of a lot of the bad things and focus on the good ones.

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. It never hurts to think about what we’re saying and consider where we are when we say it. My time abroad has helped me with this though I admit fully I can still put my foot in my mouth. No matter what happens God has given us so much and I’m so thankful for it all…I don’t mean material things but rather friends and family that are more precious than gold! God bless you my friend.

  2. My goodness. That to me was a cliff hanger. I wondered what on earth started that. Good thing to think about while you’re chatting in public. You really don’t know who is listening and how they “take”what you say.

  3. Children grow up so fast these days…wonder, imagination, and even creativity seem to be stifled at an earlier and earlier age. How sad. Children should enjoy a little magic in their lives and as long as possible! Their imagination is what will make them rich and interesting adults. BTW my Dad still gives me presents addressed from Santa Claus and I am 52.
    I think we all need to be mindful of what we say when we are amongst little people, not just at Christmas but at all times. 🙂

  4. Yup. Gotta watch what you say in front of kids at this time of year. Santa is pure magic for kids and they don’t want to believe that he’s not coming to their house. Great blog!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

