SATURDAY NOTES…

Standard

 
glitter-graphics.com

 
glitter-graphics.com

GEEZ the snow is coming down like crazy in Wisc and Ill. I am sooo grateful it isn’t here yet. I am just not not ready for it yet. Did get the snowblower filled and started today though. Hoping we only get an inch or so out of this storm that is approaching.

 
glitter-graphics.com

I went to the ACE hardware store and bought a darn hose for the washing machine since the plumber didn’t show up like he said it would. I got it all placed on there and did two loads and GUESS WHO showed up? lol YES he did.. well he proceeds to tell me that the hose is NOT  the right kind and it will kink up and I will have water everywhere when doing a larger load of clothes. Sooo, he had to leave and go pick up the right part and several others. He was in our house for only 20 minutes and replaced two faucets and two hoses, plus the drain hose. Walked out and said..I’ll send you the bill. OK..so we will see if he bills us for the WHOLE HOUR! The local mechanic we go to charges $85. an hour but if it takes 30 minutes then he only charges half. Hope this plumber does the same. This new machine works great so far and I am hoping to keep it busy on and off for the weekend so that I can get caught up. Seeing how well it works makes me realize how BAD our old machine really  was. 

 
glitter-graphics.com

Got the house decorated up and now Mom is having misgivings about having her surgery before Christmas. She is very confused and doesn’t want to be sick or in the hospital this year on the holidays I can’t blame her since she was away last year. She had a nice time for Thanksgiving and wants so much to be HOME for Christmas and not elsewhere. I keep telling her that if we postpone it though, the weather could hamper us from getting it done too. We do have to travel a lot when she is in the hospital. I guess it will be up to her to decide. Will be calling the doctor on Monday to see what they suggest. This is necessary surgery but not really  that urgent.


glitter-graphics.com

HOPE WHEREVER YOU ARE, YOU ARE WARM AND WELL AND

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. So far right here in my little spot, only an inch or so of snow. It is snowing again pretty hard right now. YUCK.
    Your mom has a very tough decision to make.
    Hugs for you both.

  2. We’ve got a cold day with lots of sunshine! Good luck to Mom making her decision; I wouldn’t want to be recuperating from surgery at holiday time either. May you only get a trace amount of snow!

  3. Is there any reason you can’t just change the date you celebrate Christmas this year? Just do everything like you would if it were Christmas day. You know, Thanksgiving isn’t always on the same day, so make an exception this year and let Mom have Christmas on whatever day works! 🙂

  4. We seem to have the weather stabilizing a bit after getting well over a foot and having it be below zero in November…yeah, I’m way sick of it already. We’ve been fortunate that my dad has been a pipe fitter and a welder…he can fix almost anything and is great with cars too. If I’ve needed help he’s always been there for me…good thing too since I’m no expert on such things. Bless your mom’s heart…I sure understand her. I have a friend that’s in need of surgery now too…ugh. God’s grace to you all.

  5. If it’s not a necessary surgery than why not let her enjoy Christmas in her own home with the people she loves? I can tell you this – it’s bad right now, we have flu viruses already hitting health care facilities. Staff is out sick, patients are sick with pneumonia. It’s not a good time to do an elective surgery.

    • Necessary surgery Elaine, it’s just the timing I hate. I agree about the illness part. We have her healthy right now and I hate to think of her getting something else and being sick as well. The surgeon stated that the quicker she can get home the better. Most people only stay during the day but Mom being 84, she will have to stay at least 24 to 48 hours or more. I hate the weather being bad too. Last year she got sick and stayed 5 days in the hosp before releasing her to the Rehab center. I just fear that might happen again and she does too. Hard to know what to decide. 😦

  6. I know how much she wants to be home, but if it were me, I’d WANT to get it done and make a point of getting back home ASAP. If she makes deadline to get well as fast as possible, and believes she can do it, you might be surprised how much that will help her to heal better. The brain is a powerful tool—but don’t let her put the surgery off too long or she’ll convince herself she doesn’t really need it. Hope it all works out as you have it planned and maybe she’ll be up and going again by New Years Eve! That’s a realistic goal, isn’t it???

  7. What a hard row for her and you to hoe. I know it has to be done and it was on my mind this morning (yes, that is the truth) when I got up..when she might be going in.

    I so wish the two of you didn’t have to go through this scenario again as you had to last year. Bad bad turn of luck. But if she can make herself go ahead and do it..she may be home for Christmas after all..but she can’t wait a long time if she hopes to recuperate well to enjoy Christmas with you girls.
    \
    (((HUGS)))

  8. I hope the plumber gives you a break and cuts you a deal, after all it is a new machine isn’t it and should be under warranty. Most of all I hope Mom’s surgery goes well for her and her recovery is fast and painless as much as possible. It would be even better if the weather cooperates with you too. Keeping my fingers crossed for you.
    Hugs
    Sherry

  9. Well, we have plenty of the ‘white stuff’ too. I actually really enjoy winter and love the snow… in moderation. Love looking at it, hate shoveling it. Love winter season, hate the extreme cold temps!
    I too hope that your mom is home for the holidays. I’ll be crossing my fingers for her, but really, she must do what is best.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

