BE CAREFUL OUT THERE RANT!!

Standard

There used to be a show on TV called Hillstreet Blues.. and the watch commander of each shift would tell his officers” let’s be careful out there people”. What the heck makes people so crazy that they think they can just do as usual on the roads when they are so slippery? Today a trip we took, that usually takes about 15 minutes, took over an hour. I have mentioned before that I usually take the back roads, but today we had our first measurable snow and those roads were pretty slippery, so I opted for the freeway. WRONG decision AGAIN.  We hadn’t gotten 1/4 of a mile and traffic stopped completely. We passed so many cars in the ditches we stopped counting. Sitting there, we wondered how long it would take before we could get the one mile to the nearest off ramp. We counted five ambulances and 4 wreckers, two large trucks, and one fuel truck. The fuel truck was very lucky that the car that swiped it didn’t turn it over. There really wasn’t all that much snow. Snow plows or salt trucks had not been over the roads because they were not that bad. Just crazy people driving WAY too fast for conditions and all the rest of us careful drivers had to be put in harms way because of it. So.. how long did it take to get the  one mile to the off ramp………….. about 40  minutes!! We got to the very slippery side roads and went slow all the way to our appointment for which we were about 45 minutes late. It is a wonder that we didn’t have to re-schedule the whole thing. So that is my Wednesday rant for this week.. why people can’t stop and use their brains and drive better is just a real mystery to me.  Hope your day went better for you than ours did. Going out again tomorrow, you can bet I am really really taking the back road this time around…. at the very least you get there on time!   

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. Don’t blame you for ranting! I’ve recently done a blog about safety, too, froma different angle. But we should be as careful as we can with the big lumps of metal we career around in. They are lethal in the wrong hands. Safety first or Christmas won’t be looking good! Be careful out there (yes I remember Hill Street!)

  2. Crazy driving seems a year ’round sport doesn’t it? I’m stunned to see such antics around here where people really should know better. Often it’s people with trucks or an SUV that seem to think they are accident proof…it’s terrible to see caution thrown to the wind at any time but at this time of year even more so.

  3. We see it all the time, especially with Interstate 81 visible from our kitchen window. Nine times out of 10 the traffic pile ups out there are caused by people who “know how to drive in this sort of weather”. Every time we have snow or ice at least half the vehicles in the ditches or piled up against the guard rails are 4X4s. Both of our vehicles are 4 wheel drive and that doesn’t do a thing for you on slick roads. Then there’s the other 10%, people who are doing anything but paying attention to the road. I’ve had people sail past me who were eating, reading, putting on make up and, of course, talking on their cells.

  4. Lots of time it seems like those with 4 wheel drive vehicles get so confident that they think nothing can happen because they have a 4×4. Well, there’s no guarantee that it’s going to keep them out of the ditch. Recently we had a close call on an icy highway, but thank God there wasn’t any traffic in the other lane. On icy roads, anything can happen.

  5. You’d also think that the city would look at the weather report and go “Oh s**t… its gonna snow tonite. Maybe we should start salting/sanding and plowing before people go to work.” Nope. Some of the main roads were so bad around here, I saw a bus pile into a car. A frigging bus! It’s worse when there is only a small amount of snowfall and it melts and freezes over. You can be driving on ice and that can be dangerous. Even snow tires are useless on ice.
    I love all of the stupid people who reveal themselves when it snows… Stupid People Pay My Mortgage!!

  6. I think some people think, oh, nothing will happen to me because I’m a good driver…. LOL. You are so right, people drive like fools in bad weather. Also in good weather…. I guess they must think they and there cars or trucks are made of Iron and nothing can go wrong… lol. ( It will ) Also, I have a problem with people that won’t turn on there lights when they should and do not use there signals when making a turn…… Oh well, I guess it may be just the season, or maybe they are just to dumb to think what happens to the other guy that can’t see me…….. have a good day!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

