MOVING ON

Standard

 FOR those of you who don’t know, I have been extremely busy here going through 60 years of life in this old house. Packing up what I need to keep and getting mom’s estate in order. Talk about a lot to do. I have had some nice discoveries along the way.  Image is not mine, my camera had root beer spilled on it and hasn’t worked very well ever since. I have cleaned it the best way I possibly can, but it still works on a limited basis.

 Bronze baby shoes,an old doll, family albums that we thought were lost. An old antique stand that was hidden away inside a closet, and sets of dishes no one knew we had. Mom had things hidden away and we have brought them into the light of day. The grandchildren came and really had a time deciding just what they can use and take with them. WHY OH WHY didn’t we do this before now? I know that Mom was attached to her home and didn’t want to move…but we still could have taken the time to go through things in our leisure. I know she would have gotten a kick out of finding a lot of them again. Winter is NOT the time to do all this cleaning and moving about, but in our case it is now  necessary. WE NEED TO MOVE into something smaller.This winter has been so brutal for so many of us. It seems more harsh than in the years past and more snow and cold in places that have not experienced it before. My gas and electric bills sky rocketed to new highs. Seeing that bill in the mail is scary.   So my days are full of boxes and trash, running to the care center and  dealing with Mom, nurses, therapists, dietitians, and finding time to catch up when I can with everyone here in the blog world. I miss visiting everyone a lot and I am so grateful that Facebook allows me to see what everyone is up to in one place. As we prepare to move on..I just take it one day at a time and wonder what the next week will bring.  Last night as I peeked out my back door I saw a large Opossum waddling across my driveway, no doubt looking for a place to stay overnight. I really won’t miss the critters at all!! 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. Carol you have been so busy as it is, and now this! Packing and moving is very time consuming and I wish I could help you out. But you are right, all we can do is take 1 day at a time and do what we feel needs to be done in our lives. I’ll certainly pray for your guidance and your strength in the days ahead. Hope your Mom gets better.

  2. I’ve been worried about you and Mom. Glad that you’re doing ok and finding neat stuff. I don’t know if I’d wanna move, tho… after that long living there. But, I get attached to stuff, so that’s just me.

    Have a super day, might want to journal every day, if even on paper, just to remember the days and the finds, one by one.

    Have a great day!

    • J… I make notes so as to remember things but don’t have much time to journal right now.. too much going on.. I am trying to take a lot of pics of things though.

  3. It does seem like you’re on the edge of a real change in your life these days and I expect once it is done you’ll be glad for it. I’ve never liked transitions either and remember them well when we cared for my grandparents. It seemed when things fell on us that needed to be done it happened all at once in a flurry of activity that you always wish could be done at a better time but such things don’t seem to ask when it’s convenient, that’s for sure. Grace to you my friend.

  4. I hope next week doesn’t bring you any skunks, but you may see a groundhog on Wednesday. LOL Just trying to lighten things up a little. I know how stressed you are with everything you’re dealing with and I look forward to your daily updates again. Hey, what’s the gas price over there anyway?

    Hugs going out to all of you.

  5. You are walking a tight rope that’s for sure. It’s a tough but sometimes fun thing going through everything and finding forgotten treasures. I feel bad that mom isn’t there to relive them tho but it’s a job that needs to be done. I’ve often thought about selling our home and downsizing too but I hate the thought of going through all the junk we’ve accumulated through the years.
    Take care Carol. Still sending prayers your way.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

