THE WATCH

Standard

I have written before about the Lost and Found game that I have been playing, as I go about sifting through the many drawers and boxes and hiding places in our old house. Yesterday I came across a gold watch that my father wore only for the dress up occasion. The band barely used, but the front inside crystal dirty. Wondering how that came to be will probably always be in my mind. I do remember my dad strapping on that watch when we could go on trips or on weekends when he would go out somewhere special.

It made me wonder how old it was so I tried to find it on-line. No luck so far but some very similar to it.  I wound the thing up and away it went. It kept time and was even fast. Having to wind it reminded me of the old days when we used to do that as a routine thing every day. It was a habit we had like brushing teeth or setting an alarm clock. Now we turn on the computer and check e mails and never think about our watch because it just ticks along with its battery intact. As I go through the multitudes of boxes and drawers of life in this old house, memories flood back and the sounds of voices and laughter echo in my ears. Soon I will leave it behind and move on to another place in life, but I will be sure to take some of the treasures I have found along with me.  Mom and Dad back in the 50’s. Wonder if he is wearing the watch?

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. You always have such lovely memories. Your memories never fail to take me back to my own.

    We have a sale pending on our house and I’m in the progress of going through the last 15 years and more of our family life with the kids growing up. Ahhh, the memories.

    BTW – we got all your snow here. About a foot! Sigh….

    Deb

  2. I know just what you are going through. I felt that way when I cleaning out everything to move. Lots of memories, mostly good ones.
    Your watch is quite a find. Take it to a reputable jeweler and see if they will appraise it for you.

    xoxox

  3. What a nice find. The memories just flood back don’t they. It makes you both sad and happy at the same time, if that’s possible. I have my grandmothers watch but it doesn’t work. I don’t know where I would send a Bulova to have it fixed. Wound too tight.

  4. Going through things from the past can yield some amazing treasures can’t it? I remember going through things at my granparent’s house years ago and finding pictures of my grandparents and mother when they were much younger. It was really a blessing to me.

  5. Lovely watch. If you investigate, you can find a jeweler that will be able to clean that all up and give it a good internal cleaning as well. I wouldn’t trust just any one to do this, to be sure, because it’s such a treasured memory, but there are those out there who are trust worthy.

    Memories… I remember doing that with Nana… they were so bitter sweet… you’ve much strength that you can do this… I’m so very proud of you!

    • J..no one else to do it but me so either do it or walk away and leave it all in the house..can’t do that so it must be done. It does take a lot out of me though..very time consuming and sometimes overwhelming. I have had many hard moments that I just have to stop and tend to it another day. My advice.. do it while the folks are still around to go through things with you. SO VERY much easier on a person. Good thing I had a lot of things done already..if not this would have been a monumental task. Thanks!!

  6. Isn’t it funny how finding one little thing can take you back so far. It’s good and fun to go back once in awhile! Even after all this time a day doesn’t go by that I don’t think of my mom and dad at least once. All I have to do is cook something they liked and back I go. It’s all good though!
    Hugs for you!

  7. Memories are a way of holding onto the things you love, the things you are, the things you never want to lose. I do remember those days when we had wind up watches… when built right by masters, those little motors are marvelous! There is something classic and enjoyable about interacting with a well made watch.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

