HOW RUDE….

Standard

One thing I just can’t stand is someone who is obviously being terribly rude to another person.  Today I came face to face with a woman, who without provocation, was so rude it was shocking. I was  sitting minding my own business in a public library using my own laptop. First the woman comes up and asks politely if she can share the large table with me. I said yes and she sat down. She proceeded to tell me that I WAS IN her place and I should change places with her. I told her I was already working and didn’t care to change. She gave me a nasty look and got up and went to the front desk to complain. I watched the poor library worker try to calm the woman down. GOOD HEAVENS.. this was not a young person. This woman must have been at least in her late 50’s! She came back to the table and I stared at my laptop screen and tried not to pay any attention to her. She proceeded to put on a DVD and let it play on her laptop loudly. When someone else said something to her she put in her earphones, but just smiled at me leaving it run very loudly. I figured she was just trying to get me to leave so I ignored her. HOW far would she go? I mean was the seat I was in all THAT important to her?  I guess it was.. it was only a few minutes before she began humming out loud to her DVD player and eating out of a bag in her purse. Obviously she was treating the library as her own person home atmosphere,no respect for where she was at all.  AS I sat there checking my email and Facebook pages, she finally gave up and packed up her stuff to leave. She put on her coat and leaned over the table and said to me..”HOW rude you are to people, I hope I never see you in this library again.”  I sat there stunned. She left the library in a huff.  In another 15 minutes, I got up to leave the library and as I walked by the front desk the library aide called to me and apologized to me for how awful this woman’s attitude was. I told her I had visited many libraries in my day and had NEVER been treated like that before. She said they had trouble with this lady before and I was smart to just stay calm and not aggravate her any farther. I tell you if I see her in the library again, I will just  steer clear of her for sure. I feel so sorry for the poor person who might be seated in HER SEAT when she shows up. Some people just are too hard to figure out.

WELL that is the latest  incident in my little world. Hope life is treating you kindly..

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. How truly upsetting Carol, I’m very sorry about this. I have seen the rise of such things in these days and sit in awe of it. It would be one thing if there was a shred of logic in it but it seems that this world has lost its moral compass. I applaud you behaving as you did as well. May you get double blessing for your trouble.

  2. Oh Carol… what a rotten person. She must be terribly unhappy with herself, to need to be this horrible to other people. Clearly, the only way she can feel any amount of goodness about herself is to put otehr people down to the point of obsurdity.

    I know it may be hard, but I would just laff at this woman for all of her idiocity.

    Hope you are doing well…

  3. Bravo for exercising restraint in this situation Carol. I have very little patience with people who think they have the right to try and push other people around. While I would never think of striking a woman she would have got a good chewing out if she had tried that with me. Frankie, on the other hand, would have knocked her on her butt!

  4. Boy, that WAS rude. You handled it just right. I’ve come across people like her and have to bite my tongue to keep from raging back at them. Hopefully you won’t ever have to deal with her again. But if you do, don’t give in to her—she is the kind of person who will walk all over you if she can. I’d avoid her the best I could if I were in a similar situation. I wonder what she’d do if you confronted her with a joke and a smile??!!!

    • Sue.. I have seen her since then and most people are giving her space and maybe that is what she was after in the first place. As you know our adult library space is not very large so there are limited places you can sit and plug in your laptop. A busy time of day makes it really tricky to keep your distance, so I have been changing up my visiting time so as to find a slow
      time of day. 🙂

  5. When I read this, my only thought was the woman is mentally unstable. But of course I wasn’t there to witness this first hand. Most likely she doesn’t know the difference between acceptable behavior and being rude. Hope you don’t see her again.

  6. What an awful experience for you. The woman has problems that is for sure.

    I hope things are going ok for you housewise. If you have a minute please send me an update.

    HUGS!!

  7. Well that was rude of her wasn’t it? I tend to believe that some people are rude because they have no respect………for themselves or others. Rude people must truly believe that ‘misery loves company’ and if they aren’t happy and content, why should anyone else be. It’s a shame.
    For me, I always wonder what good they feel can come to them acting the way they do.
    Bravo to you, never lower yourself to their level.

  8. I agree, you handled it right. To be honest, I’m not sure I could have handled it the way you did, I hope I would but I just don’t know. I find it amazing that she thinks that particular chair is hers and hers alone in a PUBLIC library. I’m sorry you had to go through that. I bet the library staff hates to see her walk through the door.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

